Shoes!

I used to have the most beautiful pair of red sneakers and used to get compliments on them all the time. Unfortunately, however, Selena also liked these shoes and practically devoured them when she was a puppy! Recently I began scouring the net looking for replacements but it appears that hot, fire engine red running shoes don’t exist anymore, so I decided to buy sneakers in another favorite colour of mine-Purple!

(My frog socks really complete the lock don’t you think?? ;)) The shoes are from New Balance in Toronto. Originally they sent me the wrong ones in white (?), so I emailed them and complained. They promptly apologized for the mix up and sent the purple ones out right away. Their customer service was excellent and very speedy.

As for the shoes themselves, they are a wee bit snug. I got the same size as my other New Balance athletic shoes (8.5), but it looks like a size 9 may be in my immediate future. (I hope not though)

And now I have the “Shoes” song stuck in my head!

18 thoughts on “Shoes!

  1. Laura

    Love your style. I have a pair of red shoes. Everyone should own a pair, they are mood enhancers. After seeing your new shoes…think I just might need that colour too. They are fabulous, especially paired with the funky socks. πŸ™‚

  2. pinklea

    Your purple runners are the next best thing to my pink ones! πŸ˜‰ (The socks are also terrific!) Fun video, too! I’ve seen it more than once, and I giggle every single time.

  3. Pauline Post author

    Leishieloo-That’s why I bought them! πŸ™‚
    Laura-Are your red shoes sneakers? If so, where did you buy them?
    Pinklea- Me too! The video is three years old but still hilarious!

  4. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear-Thanks and I love patterned socks. My main beef with them though is that many don’t come in pure cotton (better breathing material for your feet) and they don’t last very long.

  5. Jen

    Love your new shoes! yay purple! That video was deliciously absurd and awesomely bizarre πŸ™‚ I will wear my pink hi-tops today and think of you.

  6. Hippie Cahier

    Cool shoes! Have you seen the mis-matched socks (I forget the brand name)? They’re fun.

    P.S. I tagged you over at the Cahier.

  7. Pauline Post author

    Laura-Aww, I was hoping they were sneakers, but they still sound cool. πŸ™‚
    Jen-Yay for fun coloured shoes!
    Hippie Cahier-No I haven’t but I will look it up. I saw that you tagged me. Thanks! My responses will be up soon! πŸ™‚

  8. Kate

    I love the socks! I have a whole drawer full of fun socks like that, a tradition my mom started for me and I have continued. I also love New Balance, although the coolest pair of shoes I ever owned were platform, crushed red velvet Chuck Taylor’s.

  9. Finola

    I’m envious of your style – those are super cute!
    For some reason I have about 20 pairs of black shoes, plus my white runners. Plain old basic me πŸ™‚

  10. Pauline Post author

    Coffee with julie-Thank you!:)
    Kate-Wow! Crush velvet Chuck Taylors? I would like to see a picture of these shoes.
    Finola-Not boring. Just different strokes for different folks!

  11. Zhu

    Super cool! I like funky and colorful shoes, it adds some color. I bought a pair of Doc Martens cherry red this year in London.

  12. Pearl

    snazzy! I need new shoes, maybe before snow fall. do they still sell rainbow shoelaces out there? might go well with the froggies…

  13. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-I love docs, particularly ones that come in cherry red!
    Pearl-I don’t know if they sell rainbow shoelaces, but great idea!
    Lynn-Thanks! Well I recommend New Balance if you’re looking for sneakers.:)

Leave a Reply

