Questions and Answers

Hippie Cahier tagged me with these interesting questions and below are my answers. Enjoy!:

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have? Why?

It would be cool to be able to fly, but it would really be something to shapeshift into different people or animals.

2. Who is your style icon?

Honestly, I don’t have one. I just buy what is comfortable. I tend to prefer darker colours and clothing that is very practical as well. (ie. Stuff with pockets to carry camera and snacks)

3. What is your favorite quote?

Here is a good one that I found recently: “Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere. “-Carl Sagan

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

When I was 19 years old, I caught mono and tonsilitis and was literally sick as a dog! It was bad! This was pre-Hubby and my parents were away, so I had to rely on a friend to come over and take care of me. My temperature was dangerously high and I must have looked like hell, but my friend remarked that I looked beautiful even when I was sick. It was really nice to hear even if I hunkered down over a toilet and threw up, right afterwards.

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now? This:

There are a lot of romantic memories of me and Hubby’s early dating days on that cd. We even had one of the songs played as “our song” at our wedding. Other than that, it’s been my regular rotation of 70s rock tunes, ambient, classical and jazz. I recently ordered this cd and can’t wait for it to arrive in the mail! (I wish I could play the cello)

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Night owl!! I am not a morning person and loathe morning people. Not the quiet ones who enjoy the early rising sun, but the bouncy, perky, annoying-ass morning people. Grrrr!

Night is such a beautiful time, I love astronomy and love staring at all the planets, stars and comets. Looking out at the universe has an unbelievably calming effect-We are all just miniscule dots in an enormous universe.

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

I complained about this on Hippie’s blog, but why is it always dogs or cats? Why can’t it be both? Or rats? Or pigs? Or lemurs? (Err..o.k. lemurs technically may not make the best house pets. They are awesome though!And check out those eyes. Squeeee!) I love cats and dogs for different reasons and don’t really gravitate towards one or the other. Our house feels empty without the craziness of both.

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name?

I suffer from depression or the ‘blues’ sometimes, but am trying to become a more positive person. I’ve spent far too much time in Depressionland-Ruminating on past hurts, self doubt and fear that I want to become lighter and more optimistic. So I’m striving to become the happiest depressed person you’ll meet! (Or the most conflicted, whatever!)

Pictures:

http://consequenceofsound.net/2008/05/10/instant-indie-classic-plans/

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2005/08/0809_050809_lemur_photo.html

13 thoughts on “Questions and Answers

  1. kilax

    I love that quote!

    I listened to an interesting podcast lately about what it means if you choose flying or being invisible as a super power. I like what you came up with!

    I would want to read minds 😉

  2. izziedarling

    Yours is the first of the grillion “tag” q&a’s out there – interesting, good, lemur eyes- hahaha, and happiest depressed person (so get that!) Back soon 🙂

  3. Hippie Cahier

    All so very interesting! Perhaps you could shape-shift into a lemur wearing magical purple shoes that allow you to fly and then swoop in, in the midst of night, to annoy anyone who annoys you. With Death Cab as the soundtrack, natch.

  4. Laura Best

    I like the idea of the meaning behind your blog name. Many, many of us can relate to depression. It is something that seems to effect a very large portion of the population at one time or another.

  5. Pauline

    Thoughtsappear-Ha! That’s cute! Julian is an excellent name for a lemur. Very regal!
    Kilax-Telepathy would be a very useful skill! (It would be important to be able to turn it off sometimes though, otherwise it could prove overwhelming!)
    Izziedarling-Thanks! 🙂
    Patty Punker-I’m not sure if I have heard The National before but I will check that High Violet album out.:)
    Hippie Cahier-LOL. That would be sweet! 😉
    Artman-Thanks! Oh and tag! You’re it!! You now have to copy and paste these questions on your blog and answer them! (Or not, but it’s more fun when people play along)
    Laura Best-Thanks and yes depression is a growing concern. It runs in my family, so that is my theory why I have it, but habits and outlook definitely make a difference and that’s why I’m trying to improve both! 🙂

  6. Marie

    I’d love to be able to teleport and be invisible. Teleporting would allow me to get somewhere without having to take a car, metro, plane, etc. and it’s super quick!

    Invisibility so I can smack idiots without them knowing what happened. Mainly at my workplace.

    And oh so so so true about morning people! I have some in my office who are all “HI MARIE! HOW ARE YOU THIS MORNING?!” I’d like to tell them f-off but apparently that’s rude.

    Hence the invisibility and smacking them. 😀

  7. Pauline Post author

    Marie-How about invisible teleportation to be used when you come across annoying morning people in the early hours? 😉
    Chris-Yay! Feel free!

  8. Kate

    I always wanted Samantha’s power in Bewitched — wiggle your nose and be anywhere instantly. I’d be in Italy for breakfast, Japan for lunch and Mexico for dinner. Seriously, it would be so awesome.

  9. Pingback: A little more Q and A « NACHOS AT MIDNIGHT

Leave a Reply

