Sick already!

It’s September and some particularly nasty flus have already been going around. We’ve been experiencing some strange temperature extremes here in Ottawa-Boiling hot one day, freezing cold the next, which is bizarre. Normally, September is one of the most beautiful months here with moderate temperatures, hanging around 15-20C. But perhaps this strange weather explains all of the bugs floating around. I’ve been sick since the past weekend; First I was exhausted, then my throat hurt, now I’m tired and stuffed up. It really sucks!

It’s also bad because of the timing; I was supposed to hang out with some out of town friends of mine this week. One of whom was Quackers. We had planned to go out for dinner together tonight but when I called to cancel, she said that she was sick too! Fortunately, we were able to have a nice chat on the phone, but it still would have been nice to see her again in person. But maybe next time she’s in Ottawa! Feel better soon Quackers! 🙂

This cold/flu has also prevented me from socializing with other people like Jen and going to some of Hubby’s work social functions.  Last night we had the following conversation:

Him: “Tomorrow night is the firm’s golf tournament”

Me (in sick haze) : Wha? Tomorrow night is your drunken golf tournament?”

Him: “FIRM’s golf tournament! And I was going to ask you to come but you’re obviously still too sick”

Me: “Yeah. Well, my golf idea sounds like more fun anyway”

So I’m just a little not with it right now. I can be a little spacey sometimes, but factor in illness and my brain pretty much goes into outer space. Speaking of which, one of the good things about being sick is catching good cable shows. I spent two hours watching “Known Universe” on Discovery channel. Have any of you seen that show? It’s great! Today they covered hurricanes, tornadoes and earth quakes here on Earth and on other planets and moons. The weather and natural disasters we have here are nothing compared to what goes on in other locations.

For instance, one of the astrophysicists demonstrated-with a raw chicken-how the wind speeds on Jupiter can rip flesh from bone! Crazy! The next episode is September 30 and they cover asteroids!  Watch it!

The only other advantage to being sick is doing the odd chore around the house, when you have summoned up enough energy. I have done a bit of organizing and picked up Selena’s poop in the backyard. I was about to move a flower pot that had tilted to one side when I noticed this spider hanging around waiting for food(Click on the image to get a better idea of how big he is):

*shudders* I almost walked into him! I appreciate spiders and want to like them, but they scare the hell out of me. Maybe because I swear they like me. One time, I pulled a dead one of my ear and another time, I woke up and a big, black one was crawling up my thigh. Ahhh! But as mentioned, I am trying to like them, because they kill some of the pests out of my flowers and garden pots. But it is difficult to override what is probably an evolved human aversion to eight legged things.

Well I better go, time to pop some more Tylenol.

Jupiter pic: http://science.nasa.gov/science-news/science-at-nasa/2006/05jun_redperil/

17 thoughts on “Sick already!

  1. quackattack

    Sick sucks. It was really nice to talk to you, too!
    If this plague abates, I’ll give you a ring to see if you’re free to do something.

    I spent a whole day in bed with Season 1 of The Big Bang theory … hopefully that’s the antidote to all this.

  2. Alissa

    Everybody’s been sick lately. I don’t get it. I’ve been a handwashing maniac…especially since I work in a hospital. Feel better soon and stay away from that HUGE spider!

  3. Pauline Post author

    LA Cochran-Mainlining? Not sure what that means but if it means ingesting it at regular intervals, then yes!
    Quackattack-Please do if you feel better soon. (Or if you just want to chat again, I’m up for that too!)
    I’ve only seen a few episodes of BBT, it’s not bad!
    Robin-LOL. Sorry! (At least he’s not in your backyard)
    Alissa-I wash my hands all the time, but unfortunately riding on a bus and going to work with people who come to work sick often means that I get sick too! 😛

  4. Pearl

    your hearing when sick sounds like my normal. ;p

    it is spider breeding season. they’re everywhere. luckily they don’t like me as much as they do you.

  5. hippie cahier

    I am not proud to say that I do know what LA Cochran means and, although “mainlining” hadn’t crossed my mind, Nyquil had.

    The last time I was sick I took Nyquil and . . . well. . . just wasn’t quite myself. Your description of feeling spacey and then Jupiter and spiders was cute and very Nyquil-esque. 🙂

    I do hope you’re feeling better very, very soon. It’s too early in the season for these things.

  6. Pauline Post author

    Pearl-Pfft! Lucky for YOU, not so lucky for me! 😉
    Hippie Cahier-Nyquil-esque? I like that. LOL. Yes, this is my random, sick fuzzy post. Thanks for the well wishes and it is too early! (I’m worried about what January is going to be like health-wise!)

  7. Zhu

    That sucks! I wasn’t feeling so good yesterday either, I’m more tired than usual and my sinuses hurt. I’m sure it’s because of the weather change… it’s just crazy this year, hot and cold, cold and hot. And the leaves haven’t turned red yet.

  8. writerdood

    Sorry to hear you’re sick.
    That show looks great, I was bummed I didn’t catch it. Maybe it will come on again. Discovery usually plays their stuff several times.

  9. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-This fall is very odd indeed! I’ve seen some leaves that are yellow, but not too many red yet.
    Writerdood-I’m sure there will be repeats and don’t forget to watch the one on asteroids!

  10. Pauline Post author

    Wendi-LOL. It is in a way..;)
    Chris-So are you in? Should I set one up for Halloween? 😉
    Blueberry-If spiders weren’t so fast and didn’t have so many legs maybe they wouldn’t be so bad!
    Thanks!

  11. Marie

    People around here have been getting sick too. Something is definitely going around. I’ll be pissed if I get sick for a third time in a matter of two months. I’m hoping whatever is going around, goes away soon!

    Hope you feel better and keep getting lots of rest!

  12. Pauline Post author

    Marie-Has it been very rainy and cold in D.C? Because it has here and I think that definitely doesn’t help.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

