Updates

Life has been busy for me and I’m still trying to recover completely from the flu, so I haven’t had much enthusiasm for blogging lately. Here are some updates though:

-A friend from junior high school came over for drinks and dessert. She lives in England with her husband so I rarely see her anymore. While I was getting dessert ready, she told me that pursuing a PhD is “fun”. Fun? Really? Seems to me like it would be more insanely stressful than anything else, but I’m happy she’s enjoying higher education. Her and her husband discussed all their intellectual pursuits and asked Hubby about law school. I only have a B.A. so I felt a bit insecure. But practical education outside the classroom is just as important. (Plus, it’s nice not having to live on macaroni while paying zillions for tuition)

-I sent an email to an entomologist coworker asking about the spider in my backyard. Turns out it is an orb weaver, which are one of the most common garden species in Ontario. He mentioned that the spider was female, lays eggs now and covers them with a protective film. In May, the eggs will hatch, releasing tons of creepies all over the place. I sent this email to my husband, his response : “Should make for a fun May.” LOL. Must remember-Spiders are good, spiders are good. The entomologist also mentioned that there are no spiders in my area that are dangerous to humans and more people are injured by automobile accidents than by spider bites. That’s a relief at least!

-Last night I met up with some people and I think I met the biggest “Xena: Warrior Princess” fan. She had hundreds of Xena pictures on her phone and even had Xena’s chakram tattooed on her arm. Her main interest in the show was the love relationship between Xena and Gabrielle. This woman I met was a lesbian and thinks that there aren’t enough gays on television and I have to say that I agree with her. There really are next to none and the ones that do show homosexuality are only on HBO. It would be nice to see more orientation diversity on shows that aren’t quite so cheesy and ridiculous as Xena and better written (and more plausible) than the L Word.

-I’ve started reading Stephen King’s “Duma Key” and it’s pretty good so far. I’m not a hardcore King fan and actually prefer other horror writers, but he’s written some great stories. My only complaint with this one is that it’s really big and literally like the size of an encyclopedia. This can make reading while standing on a packed bus pretty frickin’ awkward!

-It will be up to me to make the Thanksgiving Tofurkey this year. Wish me luck! (It’s gotta be easier than the actual bird, right?)

11 thoughts on “Updates

  1. Zhu

    I admire people who pursue a PHD but frankly, I know that’s not for me, no matter how much I love studying. I like the real world too… and academics are often living on another planet!

  2. Jennifer (It Ain't Meat, Babe)

    I have a BA only as well, unlike most of my friends who have masters or PhDs. Sometimes I feel a bit under-educated, but mostly I just remind myself that that kind of education is not for me. I’m more the baking, gardening, sewing type than the publishing complicated papers type.

    And good luck with the Tofurky. I tried one years ago and it was pretty good. But we usually make roasted vegetables and tofu or lentil loaf these days.

  3. The Quack

    Can you stuff a Tofurkey? If so, I can’t see how it could be anything but a success! 🙂

    Yeah, I constantly feel that “degree insecurity”. You’re not alone but I think pursuing one just to stroke one’s ego would be a waste of time & money & your soul. From working at two Universities, I can tell you that the more letters after your name does not necessarily equal increased intelligence. 😉

  4. Pauline Post author

    Laura Best-Thanks! You should try it one of these days. (The only thing I’m not fond is the gravy that I believe comes with it. Blech!)
    Zhu-Academics are like living on another planet, a planet of crazy panic and stress! Glad to know that I’m not the only one who has no desire to live on that planet.
    Jennifer-Yeah, staying in school indeterminately is not for everyone. Let us know how your lentil or tofu loaf turns out.:)
    The Quack-Yes, you can stuff a Tofurkey. “Stroking one’s ego”, I think that you’re right, that is why many people feel compelled to get higher degrees, which is not a good reason. And yes, the more letters after your name does not automatically make you smarter. (ie. I have known a few idiot doctors, one of whom is my doctor)

  5. Robin

    I have a friend who is a doctor, I’ve known her since kindergarten, it just amazes me. At the same time she says she’s amazed by people like me who are artists.

  6. Lynn

    Good luck with the Tofurky…we tried one once and it was not a big hit. I’m sure I was doing something wrong — let me know how yours turns out!

    As for gay people on TV, I recommend Modern Family. Hilarious show, and also, a really nice depiction of a gay couple raising a child in a sweet family situation.

  7. Pauline

    Robin-It’s all a matter of perspective, I guess.
    Lynn-Thanks and will do! I’ve heard great things about “Modern Family”. I’ve just started getting into the other big TV show right now-“Big Bang Theory”-which is like that 70s show with nerds. I like it so far! 🙂

Leave a Reply

