Tofurkey Chase

As mentioned, I will be responsible for preparing the almighty bean curd bird this Thanksgiving. When I went to Metro this past weekend though and looked for this vegetarian alternative, they told me they didn’t sell it. So today, I called up Sobeys and a local health food store. At the Sobeys, the conversation went like this:

Me: “Hi, do you sell Tofurkey?”

Girl on phone: “What?”

Me: “Tofu turkey. Vegetarian alternative to actual turkey”

Girl: “I don’t know, I’ll forward you to our meat and deli section”

Me: *thinking* ‘She’s forwarding me to the Meat section? WTF?!’

Deli guy: “Tofu-what? Nah, we don’t sell that.”

Then I called my local health food store. Unfortunately, they weren’t much help either:

Me: “Do you sell Tofurkey?”

Health food employee: “What’s that?”

Me: “Tofu turkey”

HFE: “Uh hold on. She then whispers to her coworker, just loud enough so I can still hear her on the phone: “Do we sell tofu turkeys? We’ll have them in two weeks, but that’s after Thanksgiving! Oh they take two weeks to arrive and you have to special order them.”

HFE to me: “No, you have to special order them and they take two weeks”

Finally, I called Real Canadian Superstore:

Me *sighing* : “Do you guys sell Tofurkey?”

Employee: “Yes. We do!”

Me: “Hallelujah!”

So if you are looking for Tofurkey and you live in Canada, RCS is pretty much your only option. This is very weird, because I remember seeing Tofurkeys everywhere before, but now it seems like they are only sold in very select stores.

In other news, I drew this recently:

I’m not sure why, but lately I’ve been feeling the strong urge to draw owls and for my first one, I thought I would make them cartoony.  Maybe it’s because that “Legend of the Guardians” movie was released recently and we are being inundated with ads. Personally, I think it looks like mediocre Lord of the Rings with cgi owls.  In terms of animation, I’m more excited about watching “Mary and Max” which a coworker has promised to lend me and going to the Ottawa International Animation Festival next week! Can’t wait! 🙂

17 thoughts on “Tofurkey Chase

  1. Laura

    I tried tofurkey a few years ago and I wasn’t a big fan…it’s a texture thing. It’s good to know where to buy one in Ottawa though…if my vegetarian family visits for the holidays. Thanks. 🙂

  2. Pauline Post author

    K-Thanks! 🙂
    Nova-I can’t stand how big it is, but I do buy underwear and socks while I’m there! Damn their convenience! LOL
    Laura-Tofurkey isn’t as good as turkey, but that is difficult. Hopefully some day..

  3. Jen

    I recently just heard about Mary & Max — I’ve put it on my ZipList. Can’t wait!

    Also, I am glad your Quest For Tofurkey proved successful 🙂

  4. Allison

    In past years I’ve gotten tofurky from a bunch of different downtown grocery stores but they usually only stock it for the holidays.
    I wouldn’t be surprised if the places that told you they don’t carry it actually do.

    Don’t forget to baste it often!
    Dry tofurky isn’t fun.

  5. Nat

    My buddy Adam and I LOVE Thanksgiving because we love the word Tofurkey…

    Though I don’t think he actually ever bought one.

  6. VioletSky

    I love your owls. The one peeking out is adorable. I do believe owls are the newest animal craze for decor – they are appearing everywhere. So 70s.

    I’d rather say tofurkey than eat it. I don’t like turkey either. It is unnatural to see such huge frozen carcasses.

  7. hippie cahier

    Wow, what talent. The owls look great. I’m always fascinated by the creative urge to do something. Haven’t heard of that movie.

  8. Pauline Post author

    Jen-Thanks and let me know what you think of the movie when you see it.
    Omawarisan-Yep! All the vegan stuffing you could handle (I’ve never been big on stuffing, vegetarian or not, so I will be giving mine to Hubby)
    Allison-I will try to remember to baste it often. I hope it turns out like when Hubby’s mom makes it, she does such a good job!
    Nat-Tofurkey! It is a fun word isn’t it? He should try one and see if he likes the taste as much as the name.
    Violetsky-They are 70s, you’re right! Maybe that’s why I like them so much!:)
    Huge frozen carcasses, LOL. It is pretty disturbing and I refuse to watch how they kill them in factories or whatever. What do you eat instead?
    Hippie Cahier-Thanks. You could probably rent ‘Mary and Max’ through some video store chains. According to my coworker, who has good taste, it’s great.

  9. Kate

    1. I love owls!

    2. Hard to believe that so many people working in the food business don’t know what tofurkey is. Hello, people, get with the program!

  10. Laura Best

    The owls are terrific. I have a daughter who loves owls of all shapes and sizes. As I was reading your post I was thinking SUPERSTORE. Yeah, they sell tofurkey, even here in Atlantic Canada
    .

  11. Zhu

    😆 This sounds like explaining what being vegetarian is in China. “I don’t eat meat”. “Oh… so you will have chicken?”

    *Facepalm*

  12. Pauline Post author

    Kate-1.Me too!
    2.Exactly! It is hard to believe! Particularly since there are a lot more vegetarians and veggie meal options than there used to be!
    Laura Best-Owls are pretty sweet! They sell Tofurkey in Atlantic Canada? I never knew.
    Zhu-It would be REALLY tough being vegetarian in China, like in some other countries. For example, I went to Greece when I was 16 and a friend of mine was vegetarian. They couldn’t understand the concept and pretty much didn’t have Ives products, so they served her tomatoes the entire time!

Leave a Reply

