Recent Developments

After speaking to a coworker about my new camera issues, she called up a friend of hers who works at Henry’s and told me that he would be more than happy to look at my camera. After work and eating dinner, I zoomed on over to the photography store to get the scoop on my equipment.

The friend-I’ll call him Ben-was very helpful, patient and knowledgeable. It turns out that I wasn’t using the right shutter speed and other settings for some of my pictures. In Ben-speak: “Your camera is controlling you and not the other way around”. I have been tinkering with it,  but sometimes it really is better to have someone show you how to work something.

He said that I should take some pictures and come back to visit him. We’ll go over the photos and see if are still any issues. We talked for awhile at no charge, but Henry’s does offer classes and I will be enrolling in a December workshop.

On another note, last night I went downtown and finally paid for those allergy shots. The “stabbing” should commence late this week or next. Can’t wait…:P (Now it’s your turn Kate!)

Last night I also went out with some of Hubby’s high school friends, one of whom is visiting from Toronto. This group of guys are crazy. And by crazy, I mean hilarious. They just love to poke fun at each other and are usually quite witty about it. I haven’t laughed as much as I did last night in awhile. I seriously thought I was going to collapse at some point. It’s nice that Hubby and his group are still tight knit. Too often people grow apart, but they still seem pretty tight. Perhaps teasing is the glue that holds them together. 😉

6 thoughts on “Recent Developments

  1. Foggy Dew

    Just remember the “Sunny 16” rule: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunny_16_rule and your pictures have a good chance of turning out.

    There are so, sooo many settings on my camera I sometimes forget to check them all. This is especially problematic if the last time I was out shooting it happened to be dark. Kinda funny what happens when you’re shooting in daylight with the camera set to a light temp of 2500K. Everything turns blue.

    I’m getting better about making sure I have everything set up right, almost have to go through a checklist: ISO, shutter, apeture, light temp. I started doing this after I screwed up some “one time only” pictures last year.

  2. Zhu

    I think it took me over a year to get a hold of all the features on my Nikon D60. These things are complicated! Just don’t be afraid to experiment 🙂

    On a side note, I like Henry’s. They seem to be knowledgeable about all the gear.

  3. Pauline Post author

    Foggy Dew-Thanks, I’ll remember that and try to keep an eye on my settings!
    Pattypunker-Yes, I am corny! 😉
    Zhu-Henry’s has been great! Very customer focused which is the way it should be!

  4. Kate

    Yay! Good for you! I have to go back to the doctor next month to see if I am approved yet to take the shots. Right now she has me on meds to get my breathing a little better — no shots until it’s under control. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

