The Holidays are next month!! Ahhh!


Next month is already Hanukkah, Christmas, my birthday and New Years! The days really go by fast! I’ve already put winter tires on my car and my long johns are at the ready, but I still have to finish my holiday shopping. I sent the annual tell-me-what-you-want-now! email to my family, since I loathe shopping in December, but a few people have been less than forthcoming.  It will be a guessing game for them, apparently.

Right after I sent this email, some people have turned around and asked me the same question.

It’s been tricky composing my list this year, because we’re  saving for a house, my list of wants and needs are pretty long. But not wanting to sound like a greedy bastard, I’ve been trying to pair it down to things that will provide the most long term amusement and/or practical use. We also have lots of clutter already, so I’m trying not to add to it with unnecessary items.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not present obsessed, its just that, due to budget restraints, it is particularly important that my wish list, just like actual wishes, count.  It would be nice if everyone thought the same way, because too often people rush out to buy the shiniest things for their loved ones, but once the novelty wears off and something new comes along, that present ends up collecting dust or in the bin and from there it goes into a landfill, with many other unloved presents. Too many people in our capitalistic, consumerist society just don’t think long term enough and the trash piles just get larger and larger.

What about you guys? Have you started your wish lists yet? What is something you really, really want?

Picture: http://digitaldreammachine.blogspot.com/2005/12/rankinbass-santa-and-rudolph-puppets.html

15 thoughts on “The Holidays are next month!! Ahhh!

  1. Laura

    I’m asking for a new pair of flannel P.J.’s and silly patterned socks. I’m like you, would much rather give gifts people actually want/need. I hope you get what you wish for 🙂

  2. Finola

    I am at a point now where I only want to buy for the children on both sides of our families. I don’t want presents from others, and I don’t really want to give them either. Unfortunately my family and extended family haven’t really bought into this idea yet.

    I find the shopping exhausting and expensive.

    But I don’t mean to be a humbug here. I do want to spend time with everyone and eat nice food and drink good wine. For me that is what it should be about.

  3. Zhu

    I almost never have wish lists because I don’t care that much about Christmas. Also, it’s only the two of us here and we tend to give each presents when we really want something rather than on specific occasions.

    I can’t believe it’s almost December… the weather is strange this month.

  4. Kate

    No wish lists for me (much to my mother’s chagrin ;)). In fact, I would be happy if there was never an exchange of gifts at Christmas. Giving and getting gifts is lovely, but it feels so obligatory at this time of year.

  5. The Quack

    I hate to sound like a Scrooge, but I’ve opted out of the whole gift-giving part of Christmas. Except for my step-nephew and step-niece who I might send something to and the kids who live upstairs who I’m making stuff for, everyone on my list is getting a card and that is all.

    Like you said … already enough clutter, consumerism, etc. If you want to buy me something, do it to commemorate my birth.

  6. Robin

    I have a wish list but I always do, on Amazon but that’s mostly just for people who want to show their love for me. I don’t celebrate this holiday season.

  7. Pauline Post author

    Get off my lawn-LOL! You really can’t go wrong with those staples!
    Thoughtsappear-I love fun socks! I just wish they made them with better quality materials.
    Laura-Thanks and I hope Santa brings you pj’s and socks! 🙂
    Finola-Shopping is exhausting, isn’t it and yes very expensive sometimes. Personally, if I had more time, I would prefer to make gifts for everyone. That way gifts are heartfelt, and I wouldn’t be stressed out in some mall. And yes, food, family and wine, that is what the holidays is about and should be more emphasized in our culture rather than buy, buy, buy!

  8. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-The weather has been strange eh? Every couple has their own ideas about gifts and your way is nice in that it takes the pressure off birthdays and the holidays.:)
    Jen-Very true!
    Kate-It does feel obligatory. I hate buying for people who I see, literally once or twice a year and have no idea what the hell they want or if they will even appreciate what I get them. Frustrating.
    The Quack-The clutter can get pretty out of control sometimes. When is the commemoration of your birth?
    Robin-Not at all? Aww! Well I hope you enjoy your time off at least!

  9. Lynn

    I have a HUGE wish list. It’s embarrassing. My big problem is that my husband refuses to shop from my wish list – he considers it insulting to be provided with a list and it’s a mark of honour to buy me something that is NOT on the list. As a result my list just gets longer and longer every year. GACK!

    I won’t bore you with the epic list, but one thing I want that you might like too is baking dishes from The Pampered Chef. I don’t own any myself but I have heard their stoneware is amazing – bakes evenly and is totally non-stick. I’d love to have their pie plate, muffin tin, and baking sheets but they cost a fortune, they’re definitely a gift item.

  10. Pauline Post author

    Lynn-So he likes to surprise you then? Hmm..maybe you could suggest to your hubby that you would love it if he bought one or two ‘little things’ from your list? I have seen The Pampered Chef at fairs before and their stuff does look great! I hope you get their baking items! 🙂

Leave a Reply

