(Weird)Dreams are made of these..

The other night, I dreamed that I finally got the chance to show my work in a shared exhibition. What was my subject? Rats and lots of them. And they weren’t just any old rats, but rodents of unusual size. I painted a picture of hundreds of huge rats.

I’m an intense dreamer: I dream in colour, can read small sections of text and feel the gamut from hunger, fear, sadness, any type of emotion or instinct. Due to their intensity, I can recall them days, months even years later. Last night, I felt pride in my rodent painting. Everyone else in the exhibit chose flowers and mountains, I chose a rat infestation.* Yep, sounds like something I would do! πŸ˜‰

Sometimes I try to translate my dreams into drawings, so this week I sketched just one ratty. But if I can find the right images, I might even paint my dream. (Or try to anyways)

What about you? Do you remember your dreams? Have you ever used your dreams as a catalyst for writing fiction or making visual art?

*Disclaimer: For all my rat-lover friends, I like the rats, nay, I love the rats. When domesticated, they are cute and usually cuddly. But these weren’t pets, these were giant, monsters who had consumed the entire planet with their wild rattiness. Β It was a weird, terrifying sight. In other words, it was a really cool idea for a painting!*

Drawing inspired by this photograph: http://www.nature.com/scitable/blog/student-voices/are_sharp_teeth_necessary_to

14 thoughts on “(Weird)Dreams are made of these..

  1. Zhu

    I sometimes remember my dreams if I sleep in on WE. Otherwise no, I just jump off the bed and hurry to work!

    It’s really hard to tell a dream accurately I find. It looks clean in your head but it’s hard to transcribe for some reason.

  2. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-It’s probably hard to explain or communicate a dream because other people weren’t there. (Kinda like a funny situation) I hope I can create something out of my weird dreams. πŸ™‚
    Get off my lawn-Is that a hint? πŸ˜‰ I have been reading what you’ve been writing, I just haven’t finished and am therefore not ready to comment yet. πŸ™‚ But I like it so far.
    Rats are cool.

  3. Jen

    “these were giant monsters who had consumed the entire planet with their wild rattiness”

    HA! I love it! Great description, and it would totally make a great painting.

    And I love the drawing — I can just see his little nose and whiskers twitching away, sniffing for treats πŸ™‚

  4. leashieloo

    I used to write down my dreams to help me with fiction writing. I have some WEIRD dreams though, so I haven’t been able to cultivate anything with any substance…yet.

  5. Laura

    I am the opposite. I cannot remember my dreams…on rare occasions I can but nothing clear and detailed. That must mean something bad. I keep a pen and paper beside my bed to try to remember but in the morning there are just a few random words that do not help prompt.

    The drawing of the rat is amazing! Full of charm and personality – this is one of my new top favorite. (I do not even like rats and I love this one.)

  6. Pauline Post author

    Lacochran-Your musical dream sounds neat! Thanks and that is a very astute analysis, perhaps my dream reflects my tendency to make “monsters” out of molehills.
    That article is insane! Crazy, swimming rats!

  7. Pearl

    rat infestation. ooh. uncommon.

    I dream with all my senses, or one sense in isolation, like sense of where I am in space, or a tactile shape. Some dreams take years to fade. I’ve done poems and drawings from dreams and have a sporadic dream blog. I’d like to get the skill to do a painting rendering of dreams.

  8. Laura Best

    There have been a few times when a dream prompted me to write a short story. One that comes to mind is a story titled, “Mad Money” that was published in Transition a few years back. The first line of the story was, “I dreamed last night the house burned down.” Which of course was true , I’d had a dream about a burning house. I’m sure such has dream has some significence…. But I prefer to write fiction around such things.

  9. Pauline Post author

    Pearl-It would be a pretty amazing skill to have that is true. πŸ™‚
    Laura Best-I’d like to read your story. It is wonderful that you are able to effectively communicate your dreams or parts of them.

  10. Pauline Post author

    Laura(mindfulmerchant)-Sorry, I missed your comment! I wouldn’t worry about not remembering your dreams, lots of people forget them. Thank you for your compliments on my rat drawing! Rats are fun subjects!

Leave a Reply

