Foodie New Year!!

Belated Happy New Year my dear readers!
We took it easy at my parents place on New years eve. No crazy shenanigans, although I did get an amusing phone message from Johnny and company. Hubby and I got snazzy new stuff and enjoyed more food, which has now been crammed into our already crowded fridge. I shared the sparkling wine that Jen bought me with my mother-in-law and Hubby and I left shortly after dinner, happy to see my folks but looking forward to just sitting at home relaxin’.

I brought some homemade rum balls to my parents place. The recipe is from Pil books and here it is again (slightly paraphrased for cheap laughs):

(Extra Rummy) Classic Rum Balls

2 cups vanilla cookie crumbs/wafers             1/2 cup corn syrup

2 tbs cocoa powder                                        1 tbs honey

2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup fine chopped walnuts

1/2 tsp vanilla

RUM!!!! (As much as you want)

Combine cookie crumbs, cocoa, 1 cup powdered sugar, salt and walnuts in a bowl, stir well. Add corn syrup, honey, rum(!!!), and vanilla. Mash them up and shape into 1-inch balls. Roll balls in powdered sugar.

Pil Books are also rapidly restoring my cookie making confidence. Cookies have always been very difficult for me for some reason, but the recipes in Pil are so simple, that they are virtually impossible to screw up! And speaking of cookbooks, My mother-in-law also got me a new vegetarian one for my birthday:

We pretty much have a library of vegetarian and vegan cookbooks in our kitchen but this one is my favorite so far. Earlier, I was complaining about the crazy ingredients and preparation time involved in Tal’s book, so she got me this new one by Alison Kent and The Canadian Living Test Kitchen. No more treks to “special/overpriced/pretentious” stores. All the ingredients are available at your local grocer and the meals require little time to prepare.

Yay for simplicity and less stress! I’m going to be busy with various activities this winter, but I do plan on making some extra time for indulging in filling, quality meals by trying out new recipes and visiting hip, new local restaurants. Ottawa may not have as many quality establishments as Vancouver or Toronto, but there are still some great ones out there and I plan to sample what they have to offer!

Happy New Year! To food and happiness!

8 thoughts on “Foodie New Year!!

  1. L A Cochran

    Thanks for the cookbook tip. It sounds perfect. But how the heck do you eat the quesadilla on the cover? Knife and fork, I suppose, but where’s the adventure in that?

  2. Pauline Post author

    Leishieloo-Thank you! 🙂
    Lacochran-Knife and fork? Nah! Just get in there with your hands! 😉
    Jen-“I prefer rum…rum’s good!” 😉
    Thoughtsappear-They turned out pretty well!

Leave a Reply

