January, January Style

This past weekend saw the beginning of actual winter. Late December-early January was unusually warm around here. But now, it’s back to the regular crazy ‘ol Ottawa winter weather of -20 to -40C! It’s so cold that even the self proclaimed ‘I love winter and therefore everyone else should too’ guy at my work has been staying inside. Although he did go jogging very briefly on Saturday. He’s a crazy, crazy man! (Still nice though)

It’s times like this I wish that I had a Tauntaun, aka:

So, so cute! I’m not sure how keen Hubby would be if I brought home a giant, wooly bipedal alpaca (or sorry,Β “snow lizard”.Β  Which is weird because they don’t look like lizards!), but they have to be quicker than taking the bus or driving in the snow right? πŸ˜‰

Since it was so cold this past weekend, I tried to limit my outdoor exposure, but my mom mentioned two clothing stores were having 50-75% off sales, so of course I had to go and check them out with her. The best thing I found was this jacket:

It’s all nice and soft and I’m looking forward to warmer days in which to wear it. But until then, it’s long johns, bulky sweaters, salt stained jeans and staticky hair. This leads me to a question for you readers: Do you think it is possible to look genuinely fashionable in the winter and still keep warm? And I’m not talkingΒ 0 degrees here, I’m talking VERY cold weather. Does keeping up your appearance-Shaving, waxing, makeup-take a backseat in the winter?

Tauntaun image: http://iristook.blogspot.com/2010/06/old-wives-tale-camel.html

16 thoughts on “January, January Style

  1. artman2112

    “and I thought these things smelled bad….on the OUTSIDE!” πŸ˜‰

    yeah its cooooooold! brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

  2. Marie

    Not possible at all. I look like the Michelin Man once I’ve layered up, put on my coat, hat, gloves, boots, etc. Also, I’d REALLY like to stay in bed and hibernate all winter (paid hibernation). Is that really so much to ask?

  3. Godless Lawyer

    Fashion takes a back seat to extreme cold.

    And extreme heat.

    And moderate cold or heat.

    …In fact, I can’t really imagine a temperature at which I’d consider waxing.

  4. Laura Best

    We got hit by some cold weather too. I want to grumble, but we’ve been lucky so far since this is about the first cold snap we’ve had this winter, so I guess i’ll keep my mouth shut..

  5. Kate

    I’m not sure you want to ask me about fashion. πŸ˜‰

    I still shave under my arms regularly in the winter, but my legs stop becoming a priority.

  6. Pauline Post author

    Lynette-Yeah me too. That’s a nice jacket! Feel free to comment here again and I left you a message on your FB wall today. πŸ™‚
    Godless Lawyer-Awww, c’mon! Would you do it for me? πŸ˜‰
    Lynn-Thanks! Small jackets like that that fit can be hard to find!
    Laura Best-Us too! Winter has been weird this year..
    Leishieloo-Yeah, same here. It’s hard to muster up the enthusiasm for proper leg maintenance!
    Kate-If their covered, why shave ’em right? πŸ˜‰

  7. Hippie Cahier

    I love the jacket. I think it has a nice Valentine’s Day look to it.

    I was thinking about this shortly after Christmas when I had to go to the mall and every store had swimsuits on display. There is nothing worse than the thought of trying on a swimsuit in the dead of winter, especially after holiday binge time. It’s just cruel of them.

    I’ve seen lots of women trudging through the slush-laden sidewalks of DC in strappy sandals and no stockings. I am humbled. Stay warm and comfy!

  8. Finola

    I’m going to agree with the masses and love the jacket!
    As for fashion, I was told the other day at work that I was dressing like a Mom. I don’t think it was a compliment.

  9. Pauline Post author

    Hippie Cahier-Yeah, I try to avoid trying on swim suits in January just for that reason. I see lots of crazy women wearing nothing in the middle of late fall-winter. Personally, I’d rather be comfortable and not get pneumonia! πŸ˜‰
    Finola-Ouch! Your comment reminds me of this SNL commercial though:

  10. Allison

    I’m not really the fashionable type, winter or summer — I actually hate extreme heat more than extreme cold. As long as you dress for the cold, it’s not a hardship. So warmth over fashion? Hell yeah!

Leave a Reply

