Into the Zone..

On Sunday, Hubby and I finally went downtown to spend the Zone gift certificate we received as a wedding gift almost three years ago. For those who aren’t familiar with this store, basically it’s a modern/hip place that is very bright and very white.

I’m not really into these kind of stores and consider myself more of an “antique/flea market” type of gal, but there were some nifty things at Zone, and being the crazy person I am, I took tons of photos, while snobby people looked appalled. It was fun! Here’s a view of the store:

and some fun things we found, like these nut cracker squirrels:

mice for cheese boards:

and interesting chandeliers:

At the other end of the store, we found some cool clocks:

The second one is the one we ended up buying. It has a little red plane that goes around the continents, very neat! I liked the above ones too, they show the gears working. But it stuck out too much from the wall. Still, I might buy one of them in the future.

I’ve been bitten by the “redecoration bug” lately. Last weekend I went to Bed, Bath and Beyond with my mom and spent WAY too much money, so it was nice to find this old gift certificate. It didn’t go very far (Another reason I like second hand stuff), but at least we got some more items for our house.

13 thoughts on “Into the Zone..

  1. Kate

    I love the clock you bought — very cool! I also like those mice for the cheese boards. Do they actually do anything? Or do they just look fun?

  2. Pearl

    funny, zone seems cluttered with bric-a-brac to me. I like some of what they ahve but it feels like an antique shop even with their expansion. I’m afraid of bumping into something in their crowded aisles.

    I’ve looked at that clock. We got ours from their and our lamp. Like how they don’t keep selling the same items so you have to get it while it’s going.

  3. Laura

    I had no idea there was a Bed Bath and Beyond in Ottawa! What rock have I been hiding under? I like the clock you picked. Very cool.

  4. leashieloo

    I love BBB! If I won the lottery, I would totally clean that place out. And that Zone store is right up my alley, we don’t have anything like that here, I usually just drool over the modern stuff in the Chiasso catalog :/

  5. meanie

    my new favourite store is wicker emporium. same stuff as pier 1 but 1/2 the price and great sales. it is at the trainyards……

  6. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear-LOL. Woops! I like BBB but some of their stuff is overpriced, so it’s easy to overspend!
    Kate-I’m not sure, I didn’t get a really good look at them. I think they’re decorative, but they might do something beyond that. (Like the nut cracker squirrels)
    Pearl-They were pretty far removed from most of the antique stores that I’ve been to (apart from being jammed with stuff) . That’s neat that they rotate their items and does make me curious about what kind of weird/neat items will be there in the future. 🙂
    Laura-Thanks! The Bed, Bath and Beyond is fairly new, I believe.

  7. pinklea

    That looks like a shop that I would enjoy immensely! I’m into refeathering my nest lately as well, and I think I’d like to get some fun stuff like you showed in your photos just because I LIKE it, rather than because I NEED it.

  8. Pauline Post author

    Omawarisan-Oops! Sorry I missed your comment. Yes annoying snobby people=additional credit. I wonder if Lululemon will start this credit system soon too..

Leave a Reply

