Weekend in Toronto

Last Friday, Hubby and I ran off to Toronto.

Why? To visit my brother and his girlfriend and see the much anticipated Tim Burton exhibit at the TIFF.

Saturday was the big day of activities. After breakfast at the amazing Fox and Fiddle, we took trolley and subway and ended up walking towards the Distillery District. On the way, we stopped in at D&E Lake Ltd., which sells books and antique prints. For anyone who loves reading, this place is a paradise, it is literally crammed with wall to wall books:

I told the gregarious employee that I was looking for a small picture of boats and he showed us upstairs, where there was a plethora of antique prints and maps. These paintings and etchings brought back memories of my Canadian Art history classes in university. Very cool and interesting stuff and I found what I was looking for for just $60! Sweet! Next up was more walking down Younge, then Parliament, past the store that sells sperm shaped lights: (Or maybe they just look like sperm to my pervy way of thinking)

Until finally we landed in the Distillery District. The District has some really cool, old buildings, plus one very neato giant sculpture that this young girl decided to check out:

Next, we went to the chocolate store SOMA for some hot chocolate spiked with chili peppers:

Here’s the back of the store where you can watch the employees make the wondrous chocolate candy:

SOMA’s chocolate ingredients come from countries other than the States or Britain and tends to be less sweet and heavy. It had a darker, spicier type flavour. After our drinks, we went to Archeo Trattoria, where I swear I had the best sammich of my entire life! Ahhh, so goood! Archeo, like the other establishments in the area, is proud of its building’s history and displayed huge photos of how it looked pre-renovation:

The philosophy of this area seems to be to repair so the place doesn’t fall apart and change some interior surface features, but try to preserve the unique character. I think that is how every city should treat their treasured historic buildings.  While leaving the District, I caught a notorious Segway Gang, causing mischief and mayhem at a reasonable speed:

Or more than likely, a tour that is done entirely via Segway. They seemed not too keen on being photographed though…

We then left the Distillery District to walk down Queen Street West to visit World of Posters (I bought two!) and then walked to the Silver Snail:

I bought three more Sandman issues. If anyone is interested, they are having a 20% off sale.  I also snapped this obligatory photo of the CN Tower:

Lastly, we went to TIFF for the anticipated Tim Burton exhibit. The TIFF was packed with people and when we were ushered into the three rooms where his beautiful creations were held, it began to feel very claustrophobic. But it was worth it! I got to see Johnny Depp’s costumes in various movies plus the Michelle Pfeiffer Catwoman kink outfit, and many drawings, paintings, sculptures and videos. It was very cool! Unfortunately, photography was strictly forbidden so all I have for you is the ad from outside:

and this giant monster also outside the exhibit:

Tim Burton is without a doubt, one of the luckiest guy on the planet! After a few years of toil at Disney Studios, he was able to break free and create his own type of movies, with their unique, morbid charm and make millions doing so! Look at his stuff made me sigh enviousy, but it also got the creative gears working in my brain, so I left also feeling quite excited!

For dinner, we went across the street to a pub and waited for Steve, a local friend, to arrive. Steve and Hubby insisted on watching the hockey game on the TV. It was Ottawa vs Toronto and they keenly watched, while I yawned and flipped through my Tim Burton book. The game droned on and on, and neither team would score. After a whole day of walking, I was exhausted and just wanted to crash at my brother’s. Finally the Sens scored and Steve gave us a ride home. (Oh and Steve, we are now even. After making you and Hubby go clothes shopping with me the year before last, you have enacted your revenge by making me watch a never ending hockey game! ;))

Sunday, we had brunch with my bro and his girlfriend and played some video games. I took some photos of Shiva, their cat.

Shiva was not impressed with having to share her territory with two strangers who smelled like other cats and a dog. She made her displeasure known numerous times, but early on Sunday morning, before everyone else got up, she joined me on the couch and watched me sketch in the living room. So I guess she got used to us somewhat. 🙂

Anyways, that was my short mid-winter break to Toronto. We will probably go back in the summer for more adventures.  Thank you to my brother and his girl for letting us stay at their place! 🙂

21 thoughts on “Weekend in Toronto

  1. Laura

    So nice to read about interesting places in Toronto. I really miss Queen Street shops.

    Also…I think the lights looks like sperm too. 🙂

  2. thoughtsappear

    I would love to go to the Tim Burton exhibit! I just saw it’s going to be on the West Coast in May. I wonder if its coming back to the East Coast or if I missed it. Thanks for posting the pics!

  3. Zhu

    I like Tim Burton, it creates amazing little worlds in his movies.

    The Segway people… why, but why??? I see those everywhere. Is walking that tiring? And Segway tours are so expensive. I saw one in MTL a while ago and it was like $20 for 10 minutes of Segway “experience”.

    I don’t like North American chocolate much… too sweet! I’m partial to Swiss chocolate.

  4. Lone Grey Squirrel

    Enjoyed coming along on your virtual tour. I admire the crazy creativity of Tim Burton and would have loved to see that exhibition. I think his latest Alice in Wonderland” movie to be a landmark in imagination.

  5. Foggy Dew

    OK, so my take-away from that is your brother has a cat named after the Destroyer and Bringer of Death. Cool.

    Sounds like a fantastic weekender. Gonna have to take a trip there one of these weekends myself. If for nothing else than SOMA.

  6. Hippie Cahier

    I wonder if Soma is a reference to Brave New World ? That would be a clever and accurate connection for chocolate.

    Glad you had such a nice time!

  7. Pauline Post author

    Foggy Dew-LOL. Sometimes it seemed like a very apt name. 😉 Yes, go to Toronto and come visit Ottawa too! We also have a good number of chocolate places downtown! 😀

  8. Pauline Post author

    Lone Grey Squirrel-Great, I’m happy you enjoyed it, despite the lack of pics. Honestly, I didn’t really like Alice in Wonderland, (There are only two Tim Burton movies that I thought were overrated-Alice in Wonderland and Willy Wonka (The original is SO much better!)) but it did have its moments. He really is the most imaginative person in Hollywood!

  9. Lynn

    This looks like such an amazing getaway! Who knew such cool things were to be seen and had in Toronto. It makes me want to go!

  10. Pauline Post author

    Lynn-There are lots of cool things to see and do in Toronto! It takes stamina and patience sometimes though, with all the crowds and crazy traffic, but it’s worth it!

  11. Allison

    They totally look like sperm. And I LOVE Tim Burton. My daughter does too — The Nightmare Before Christmas has been her favourite movie since she was five.

  12. Pearl

    So, that’s what that sign was. I walked past the poster for the Tim Burton exhibit but people were in front taking photos of it so I didn’t stop.

    Heh, how small of world. Me being in the distillery district and Soma within days of you!

  13. Pauline Post author

    Pearl-That is weird! If we went on the same day, we might’ve run into each other! 🙂 You should’ve gone to the exhibit! It was good!

  14. Pauline Post author

    Allison-Thank you! More ‘they look like sperm’ agreement! LOL. The Nightmare Before Christmas is an amazing movie! She has good taste! 🙂

Leave a Reply

