Nice Long Weekend

What a great looong weekend! We got sunshine for one and a half whole days!..woot!  Yep, it was rainy, but Hubby and I got to sleep in and eat. For Easter dessert, I made two lemon meringue pies, one for our parents and one for us:

Hmm..pie. If you want the recipe, click here. It’s very easy to make!

I also watched old episodes of “Work of Art“, that crazy reality show about artists competing for $100K and a chance to exhibit at the BrooklynMuseum. It seems highly questionable to have a reality show about art, but damn it is so much fun to watch and so inspiring! Some of the artists on the show are narcissistic, egotistical a-holes, but I think most are genuinely talented and strangely enough, probably more down to earth than the people on other reality shows. There are some pretty terrible reality shows out there, but the ones involving creativity-Work of Art, Project Runway and Kitchen Nightmares- aren’t so bad. I will say this though: If reality shows completely replace sitcoms and fictional television series, I think it’s safe to say we’re all doomed! 😉

This weekend, I also made watercolour Easter cards, which you can see on my art blog. They were so much fun to make, I don’t want to ever go back to Hallmark ones. I also made a Kirby:

I heart Kirby. He’s such a cutie! He was made with polymer clay and paint.  I bought some clay modeling tools at my local Wallacks this past weekend and the girl at the cash looked at me and said:

“Oh, hi. I haven’t seen you in awhile.”

Apparently I was on quite a buying streak there.  I felt a tad embarrassed but I suppose there are more sinister addictions than art supplies.

When I returned home and got to work on Kirby, I realized we don’t have any superglue, so it looks like I’ll be going to Wallacks yet again! My next Kirby will have the eyes pre-baked and attached later. Hopefully that will make the next one turn out better.

Well I better run. The weekend is over and it’s back to work but I took tomorrow off to run errands. I hope you had a good weekend!

15 thoughts on “Nice Long Weekend

  1. Zhu

    Art supplies are super addictive. I can spend hours in that store… but then I keep on reminding myself chances are I won’t even start the project I’m buying supplies for 🙂

    I’m definitely trying that pie!

  2. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-With so much variety it’s too easy to get carried away in art stores. (That’s why I now shop with a list and stick to it religiously) You should try making it, very easy and so tasty!

  3. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-Thank you. I bought a pasta machine so hopefully I can recreate his pink colour again without working my hands so much!

  4. Laura

    I love Kirby! Totally forgot about that cute little fella. I also LOVE lemon meringue pie and yours looks perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Home-made cards are the best. Your cards are beautiful, a gift all on it’s own.

  5. bluntdelivery

    ok. at first i thought that was a picture of my famous lemon cake. and i thought you were sneaking into my secret archives.

    but it’s not. it’s meringue. which i hate cus it’s creamy. but looks really pretty. hah.

Leave a Reply

