Dinner and other Stuff..

Last weekend, I went out for dinner with Mindful Merchant. It was a nice evening, well except for the fact that the restaurant I picked-Atomic Rooster– had a band, so we ended up shouting at each other over our meals. Plus, it was packed, so naturally it was super hot. Thankfully, our waitress turned on the AC. It was a nice restaurant, the food was o.k. and our waitress was very attentive, but I think next time, I will take better care to make sure that there isn’t a band playing. I like music, but it’s not very conducive to getting to know someone.

Ottawa is doing much better in the restaurant department than it used to, but it still can be a challenge to find a place that serves great food but isn’t super expensive.

What are some of your favorite spots?

In other news, I went to a podiatrist for the first time. I’ve been experiencing sharp pains in my right knee and yesterday my right hip muscles decided to freak out for some reason while I was walking to my office. After waiting a few minutes to fill in a form, I was shown to a waiting room and in no time at all, the doc showed up. I removed my socks and shoes, he looked at my feet and exclaimed: “Those are some flat feet!”

Tell me something I don’t know.

He explained that my right foot has completely “collapsed” and my left foot will too soon. That is why I’ve been getting such bad knee pain. Then he guided my feet into these boxes filled with foam and $500 later, I got a receipt for some inserts and a promise that they should be arriving soon.

In addition to my duck-like feet, I also have crap posture, which I doubt is helping things. But it is really difficult standing perfectly erect for eight hours at a desk and one hour commuting back and forth. It just feels so unnatural.

How about you? Do you have trouble maintaining perfect posture at your job?

Images:

http://www.restaurant-publicity.com/

http://www.meomount.com/ergo-health

23 thoughts on “Dinner and other Stuff..

  1. Lone Grey Squirrel

    I too have feet borrowed from canards. Somethings that help include having a back support cushion when sitting at work; sitting with your knees being at higher than your hips; and taking breaks every hour to do 5 minutes of back stretching exercises. Good luck fellow sufferer.

  2. Allison

    Next time the Atomic Rooster is too noisy, walk a little farther down the street to Imperial (http://the-imperial.com/). Their food is delicious and mostly local, and looking at all the ridiculous B movie posters on the walls is always entertaining.

  3. Zhu

    Yuck, I hate noisy places. I worked by the Atomic Rooster for years (on MacLaren) but I missed my chance to eat there 😉

    Favourite restaurants… I love Fratellis and Cafe Mio although they are not cheap (around 15-18 for mains). There are a few great places in Chinatown, pho of course but also Jo Moo Ting, a little hole in the wall that does authentic Chinese food.

    I know quite a few places in the ‘burbs as well, in Nepean.

  4. Pie

    Doesn’t sitting down all day give you piles, or something?!

    I like to sit bolt upright, even in a car. I must annoy the next passenger that gets in, as they’d have to adjust the seat again to the almost horizontal position that most people seem to prefer.

    I have a sedentary job as a temping/freelance designer and it’s almost impossible to maintain a good posture, particularly as I move around so much, making me a hostage to whatever furniture the company provides. I hear that sitting on one of those Swiss exercise balls will improve your posture as you’d have to work to maintain balance, which will strengthen your core muscles.

    Good luck with your feet. Funnily enough, I will be seeing a doctor soon about my own feet. The left one isn’t quite right and I’m pretty sure my feet are flat too. Fortunately, I don’t have pains in my knees or back and hope I never will.

  5. bluntdelivery

    dude, i have the WORST posture ever.
    all i do all day is sit in a chair, and it’s hard not to lean forward for the computer.

    and as for hip problems, when you read my recent post you’ll understand.

    ugh, we’re a hot mess.

  6. Pearl

    sounds like our feet would match. I got orthotics about 8 years ago and the hip fatigue and knee and foot pained gradually stopped.

    It’s a pretty tough town to find edible things. Most are flat-flavoured, warmed up oily leftovers presented badly on a plate.

    Have I mentioned Peace Garden? Smallish menu but good food.

  7. XUP

    I have perfect arches in my feet, but I CAN commiserate over the lack of good restaurants. After spending almost 8 months downtown and lunching at most of the restaurants, I can say I was only ever pleasantly surprised at one — Kinki. It’s a tad pricey and I’d been avoiding it because it sounded so pretentious, but the food was actually very creative and very good. Other than that the places in Ottawa I’ve liked are the Pho places — Pho Bamboo, Saigon Boy and Saigon.

  8. Hippie Cahier

    Ummm….my comment disappeared in the middle of writing. . . .I don’t know if it will show up, so I won’t repeat much of it except to hope your foot/knee/hip problems get better….and what I was in the middle of writing was that lately I find restaurants either too loud or too quiet. Even Applebee’s (admittedly not fine dining!) seems to have turned up its music to the point that one has to shout.

    I don’t care to eat at more intimate places, either, where you dine so close to others that you’re privvy to one another’s conversation.

  9. Pauline Post author

    Lone Grey Squirrel-I have a good chair at work and have started doing more stretches. My monitor and keyboard are a bit off though, I’m going to get an orthopedic assessment of my desk soon!

  10. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear-I guess it means that any type of arch is now gone and they look like duck feet. Thanks and I can’t wait to get those inserts!

  11. Pauline Post author

    Allison-I’ve never been there, but I will try it next time I’m in that area for dinner. B movie posters=Definite plus!

  12. leashieloo

    I have the same problem at work and have been developing creaky knees in the process, which is very worrying! They say you’re supposed to stand up and move around at least once an hour, but when I get busy, that’s hard to do. Luckily, my company is making us to do this pedometer contest and that’s forcing me to do more walking. I was told that my knees need more “lubrication” from activities like walking and bike riding, so I hope to keep that up. Best of luck to your knee/foot situation, keep us posted!

  13. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-Chinatown has some great places for sure! The west end has some wonderful new restaurants, the east end..eh,, not so much!

  14. Pauline Post author

    Pie-No, piles are caused by a lack of fiber in your diet. Ah yes the exercise ball. I have one of those, but rarely use it, so I should probably start. That’s great that you’re seeing the doctor about your feet soon. I probably waited too long and hence have knee pain.

  15. Pauline Post author

    Blunt delivery-It is hard not to lean forward in front of the computer! We need to re-train our brains, I guess to sit straight. I liked your post, it made me laugh but sympathize at the same time!

  16. Pauline Post author

    Pearl-That’s great that they helped with your pain. I hope they can do the same for me! I STILL haven’t been to Peace Garden. I’ve been to every other veggie place in town except that one!

  17. Pauline Post author

    XUP-Lucky you having perfect feet! I haven’t been to Kinki in awhile, but I do remember the food was tasty! I love sushi!

  18. Pauline Post author

    Hippie Cahier-Oh, that’s so annoying! My comments have disappeared on other blogs too! They really do crank up the music way too loud in many restaurants. As mentioned, I like music, but it should serve more as soft background noise than a dominant feature in a place where you’re trying to eat and talk.

Leave a Reply

