Forgot the Maid of the Mist

In my last post, I forgot to include some photos and brief summary of our experience on the Maid of the Mist.  Basically you put on a  garbage bag blue raincoat, crowd onto a boat and they take you as close as they can to the Falls without getting sued:

Here is a shot when we just entered the boat:

Getting closer:

And now we’re as close as possible to the Falls and everyone is getting heavily sprayed:

Naturally I don’t have a lot of photos of the Falls close up, because it would wreck my camera, but it’s like being in a storm. It’s fun though and worth the ticket price. On our journey we went to several museums that talked about people who went over the Falls, either intentionally or not, and those that survived are REALLY, REALLY lucky! Not just because of the size of the drop, but because of how rough the water is and it’s pretty rocky in some areas.

Anyways, there you have it: Maid of the Mist!

12 thoughts on “Forgot the Maid of the Mist

  1. Lone Grey Squirrel

    I was wondering. It seemed like you covered everything and the kitchen sink but not the falls itself! 🙂

    Great photos and those raincoats, talk about brightest blue!

  2. Laura

    I’ve been to the Falls many times and never gone on the maid of the mist. It looks so scary. Amazing that anyone survived going over those falls. Great photos!

  3. leashieloo

    Hahaha I loved the Maid of the Mist! You’re right about having to watch your camera, I tried to take as many as I can, but then I had to hide my face in my raincoat as I got drenched!

  4. Pauline Post author

    Lone Grey Squirrel-I did post some photos of the falls in my earlier posts, but yes, it wasn’t until later that I forgot to include the very important Maid of the Mists! LOL, those raincoats are pretty snazzy!

  5. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-It’s not the most camera friendly boat ride. Well unless your camera is waterproof, I suppose.
    B-I think most people should do it at least once in their lives. 🙂

Leave a Reply

