Events post-Vacation

A few things have happened since I got back from vacation.  Hubby graduated from the title Student-at-Law to official Lawyer and we went to his Call to the Bar ceremony. The ceremony, like the earlier grad, was at the NAC again. The convocation was a good length and the speeches, given by a Regional Senior Judge  of the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario and the Treasurer of the Law Society of Upper Canada, were witty, honest and entertaining. Hubby is now a full fledged Lawyer and I am so happy for him! It’s been a long stretch!

Apart from that, I spent most of this past Canada Day weekend in a two-day Adobe Photoshop course. It was decent, although by the second day, I was feeling really restless and wanted to run away and frolick outside! Our instructor made it clear that she also wanted to salvage as much of her free time as possible, so she let us leave half an hour early. The downside to this, however, was that she ripped through the material really fast. Too fast!

She didn’t really save all that much time though, because people kept asking her to show them what she just did, so she had to go to each person’s desk and help them. At times, it got to be pretty frustrating. The good thing, however, is that she put most of the material on a blank cd, so I’ll be going over some of the stuff at home.

I’m going to be taking Illustrator next and possibly Web Design in the farther future. I’ve been formulating alternate plans for my career and both will come in handy. Watercolour is another class that I’m interested in. It can be a tricky medium but I do love it! I’m going to try and pace my education though.Working all day and then going to class afterwards can be a juggle, so I don’t want too many balls in the air at once.

Plus-Everyone needs some time to decompress/sleep/watch sexy HBO shows.

Other than those two things-I’ve been busy with my artwork, some of which is posted on my art site and learning some of the aforementioned programs on my own. I’ve downloaded the free trial of the Adobe Creative Suite, so I figure why not give myself a crash course before taking any official college courses. Hubby also bought me a Wacom Bamboo tablet which comes with Corel Painter, so I’ve been playing around with that as well.

This Thursday is Blog out Loud and I’m looking forward to it! I won’t be reading this year, but it sounds like Lynn has a good lineup planned. I hope to see some of you guys there!

9 thoughts on “Events post-Vacation

  1. Author

    I seriously admire your saying: “I’ve been formulating alternate plans for my career and both will come in handy” … if only I could get myself out of the wishing and into the formulating phase. Good luck!

  2. Pauline

    Quackers-One thing that I’ve learned is that no one can make major life changes but you. It can be hard to know which direction to go though. If you think about what you would love to do though, that might help.:)
    Lone Grey Squirrel-Thanks! 🙂

  3. Laura

    Congratulations to your husband! Your courses sound so interesting! I have a weakness for watercolour paintings…love that medium.

  4. Pauline Post author

    Laura-Thanks! The courses hopefully will be interesting! I love how quick watercolour dries and that it doesn’t require large canvasses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

