I’m still here!

Has it really been more than a month since I’ve posted here? Crazy! I’ve been busy and haven’t been feeling as much into the blogging spirit, but here are some photos of things we’ve done over the past few weeks.

We went on the Ottawa Haunted Walk. I had to drag Hubby to this, he’s not as into the paranormal and creepy stuff, but I think we had a pretty good time. Here is our lovely tour guide:

She told us all sorts of interesting tales, like that Sparks street used to be a giant graveyard back in the olden days and showed us all the alleged haunted buildings, like Lisgar Collegiate school. Lisgar supposedly has a ghost in the attic who might belong to a person killed by ice that fell off the roof. I took a shot of the attic, see anything? Yeah, me neither. Oh well, supposedly they do get the occasional ghost image sent to them:

Hubby and I also spent August long weekend at his parents timeshare on Wolf Lake. It was great! Well apart from getting lost on the way there and sheepishly muttering to them as we arrived, exhausted. But the rest of the weekend consisted of swimming, shopping and eating wonderful food. Hubby also got quite a bit of golf time in there. (I’m more of a mini putter than a serious golfer myself) Anywho, here are two photos:

This the back of a really fun store in tour around in nearby Merrickville. They have the main store, plus the backyard and a shed, full of trinkets:

And what would a trip photo from yours truly be without a funny/weird/douchey licence plate. File this one under a funny and proud Canadian:

Lastly we went to the Carp Garlic Fair. It wasn’t as fun, but I did get some great produce. It was really busy, as you can tell from the photo:

In retrospect I should’ve bought some marinades or chutney, that stuff is always good at these Garlic fairs. The pies looked AMAZING too, but Hubby and I are both on diets at the moment. He lost 20lbs! I’ve lost…some too. He’s been working out three times a week. As for me..um, does taking the stairs at work sometimes count? 😉

So that’s it for now, but check my art blog as there will be more updates there and next weekend and the weekend after we will be going to Toronto..again! Our first trip to TO will be for the Fan Expo and the weekend following will be for a wedding.  So check back here too, there will be photos of sci-fi/cult/comic/horror celebrities one week and people doing the funky chicken after too many drinks at the open bar the weekend after! 🙂

18 thoughts on “I’m still here!

  1. Lynn

    So good to hear you’re having a great summer! We’ve been to the garlic festival (accidentally…I innocently thought we were just going to the fair) and it was nutso. But next time we’re there I will definitely check out the pie. Great pies that I didn’t have to make…awesome!

  2. Pauline Post author

    Lynn-It has been a busy summer! Not having to cook/bake things all the time is wonderful! That’s true!
    Thoughtsappear-It was fun! There’s another tour called the Naughty Walk where you visit all the pubs and listen to tales of debauchery. I’d like to do that one at some point too!

  3. leashieloo

    Welcome back! Looks like you’ve been having a great summer. That Haunted Walk sounds fun, it’s like a taste of Halloween, which I love. I’m already pondering costumes for this year 🙂

  4. Zhu

    You don’t need to be on a diet!

    So you did the haunted walk, eh? I have a ticket for that, got it at work. I’m planning to go in September.

    I think I’ve seen that license plate in Ottawa… or another similar one with “eh”.

  5. bluntdelivery

    well hey sounds like you’ve had a great time lately. I hate haunted things so you’d of def been on your own there. Glad you’re back and glad you had a good break!

  6. Laura

    Welcome back! 🙂 I’ve always wanted to go on the haunted walk…but cannot find anyone who will go. (That sounds pathetic) Nice to hear it was interesting and uneventful.

  7. neeroc

    Your summer sounds fantastic. I’m sorry I missed the garlic festival, it just seems weekends have been exploding these days *g*.

    Have to check out the haunted walk, hubby would love that!

  8. Pauline Post author

    Bluntdelivery-Thanks! You’re missing out on the haunted houses/walks! They’re great! O.k. well maybe not all of them. I have been to a few crappy/ripoff ones!

  9. bevchen

    A garlic fair? Wow, sounds amazing (I LOVE garlic).

    My boyfriend won’t go on any of those ghost walk things with me. He refuses point blank to believe in anything paranormal and thinks such tours are a waste of time, money and anything else they might possibly waste. I think it could be quite interesting. Maybe I should drag someone else on one with me sometime.

  10. Pearl

    I’ve never made it to a garlic fair although sweets with garlic are always tempting from the walk-on-the-weird-side factor.

    Good to see you post again.

  11. Pauline Post author

    Bevchen-It was o.k. Not as big as you usually picture a fair. My husband thinks the exact same way about haunted tours, I just tried to frame it as it being “historic” and “interesting”. There are probably haunted tours in your area. 🙂

Leave a Reply

