Bloggers on Blogger, listen up!

I know that you need to moderate comments and yes, anonymous ones can be creepy, but can some of you please change your comment settings? Please, with a cherry on top? What’s been happening is that I find a cool new blog, take the time to write a comment but am then denied because I don’t have a Google/Blogger account!

WTH?!

I just want to say hi, but with my WordPress account info. Surely we can all coexist in this big bloggin’ world!

Thanks 😀

15 thoughts on “Bloggers on Blogger, listen up!

  1. Paulie

    i had the same problem posting comments on some blogs i follow, it isnt just because of word press or the like its something within blogger itself and it really sucks! i dont even bother with half the blogs i follow because i cant leave a comment and i have found no settings to fix the problem. one person suggested clearing all cookies from your browser then logging in but not checking the keep me logged in box and yeah it works except then all the other sites i visit daily i have to re-log in and you know what, it just aint wporth the hassle. between blogger and fb, the constant changes and downward spiral of user friendliness its becoming more and more of a chore to even bother with it all 😦

  2. neeroc

    Ugh, are they doing that again? Seems like they really don’t want to play nice. Can you not select the option where you manually add your website?

  3. Pauline Post author

    Paulie-You are exactly right. It is becoming a huge hassle! These are products that are supposed to help people connect with one another but instead they are just turning everyone off. It’s better to keep things simple.
    Neeroc-Nope! There is no option for that. (Or at least I didn’t see any) It only accepts Google accounts, which I don’t have and don’t really want to make just for leaving a comment.

  4. Zhu

    I know, it’s a shame!

    I have a simple rule now: if I have to login or register to leave a comment, well you’ll never see my comments. As simple as that. I’m tired of creating accounts on plateforms I don’t use just for the sake of it.

  5. Pie

    Neeroc. I’ve tried the manual option on some of these Blogger blogs and my comment still doesn’t get published! On others I have had to go through the whole rigmarole of typing in some code as well as the manual adding of my blog address to make sure I’m not a spam bot. Any blog that makes it so difficult to leave a comment, no matter how good, is not worth returning to in my opinion. It really is unfriendly and unwieldy. If Blogger bloggers are really worried about getting spam etc. then they should set their blog so it can only be read by friends and family. WordPress has the wonderful Askimet, which catches 99% of all spam and as individuals, we have the power to moderate any new comments that come in and block any commentator who starts to get a bit lairy.

    Leave nasty, unfriendly Blogger alone, ladies and gentlemen and embrace WordPress. It is the king of blog hosting. I wouldn’t recommend anything else.

  6. B

    OMG! I hate this too! I’ve found a few I’ve wanted to comment on but can’t because of the settings the Blogger has set up. It sucks. 😦

  7. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-It is a shame and you shouldn’t have to go through that just to leave a comment!
    Thoughtsappear-It should be all the time like it used to be!

  8. Pauline Post author

    Pie-Yes, Askimet is wonderful! Blogger must have something like it! I wish Blogger would go back to the way it used to be, this whole Google account business is BS!
    B-It really does suck! I bet there are a number of people on Blogger who wonder why they don’t get more comments…

  9. Jen

    I’ve been having this trouble, too . . . and I have a google account! It’s pretty frustrating. I find I resort to just emailing my message to the blogger now if it’s really important, and they have a listed address.

  10. Pearl

    yeah, that’s happening more. and people say they can’t access Humanyms even to read. I don’t know what the deal is there.

  11. Laura

    I find it hard to keep up with my blog reading much less fiddle with complicated comments. If it isn’t easy…I do not comment.

  12. Pauline Post author

    Pearl-That must be frustrating for you. I hope Humanyms changes things back!
    Laura-It really shouldn’t be difficult to read and comment on someone’s blog. I thought that’s why we had them, so that anyone could leave feedback!

  13. Finola

    Can someone please let me know if you have this problem with my blog? I just don’t have time to figure out converting over to word press 😦

Leave a Reply

