Socializing and Zombies!

The weekend was decent: On Friday night, I went to a French group meetup. As the name suggests, it’s a mixed group of Francos, Anglos and immigrants who get together and speak in French. They usually get together for coffee, dinner or watch movies. It’s something incredibly valuable because you can take all the dry (and sometimes painful) language classes and tricky government exams you want, but unless you practice semi-regularly, all that training is pretty much
useless. And when it comes to practicing, I would rather do it in a casual, easygoing environment with food. Food is always good.

There’s similar groups in Mandarin, Italian, Spanish and a woman on Friday mentioned that she would like to start a German one. I’ll stick with French for now, but if my Mandarin ever gets to a decent level, I might crash that group too! 🙂

On Saturday, Hubby and I watched the 80s gem Repo Man. For a lark, I put it on my Cinemail list ages ago and received it in the mail recently. I guess there’s a lot of Emilio Estevez fans on Cinemail. LOL. Anyways, the movie is hilariously ridiculous, rent it if you’re looking for a purposefully cheesy laugh!

Check out that badass earring!

Sunday was one of our friend’s birthday and we celebrated at the Smoque Shack. If you ever visit this place, be prepared for a long wait for your entrées. But the staff was friendly and helpful and the food is good when it does finally arrive.
That night was also the first episode of the second season of the “Walking Dead”! Very exciting! At dinner, two friends of our friends showed up and when I mentioned how much I was looking forward to the season two
première, one of them asked me if I have read “World War Z” to which I hung my head in zombie lover shame and said no, I have not. (yet!)

I wonder if Thoughtsappear has read this book yet. Probably. But I am losing some of my horror geek cred by not having read it! (But if anyone is looking for December holiday or birthday gift ideas for me..;))

This same guy also pitched the idea of us getting together to play “Geist“.  Now I have another geek confession: The amount of times that I have played roleplaying boardgames is once. Sure, I’ve played a lot of videogame
roleplaying games, but boardgames, not so much! But I’m looking forward to it! Just don’t ask me to LARP. I can think of a million things that I would rather do than pretend to be a level 30 elf running around the woods in a homemade chainmail suit. That is probably something that I’m not embarassed to have never done! LOL*

*No offense to any LARP’ers out there. I mean whatever floats your boat or slays your dragon, in this case. It’s just not for me.

Emilio pic: http://www.savonsanomat.fi/viihde/tv-arviot/repo-man/95580

WWZ-http://zombie.wikia.com/wiki/World_War_Z

13 thoughts on “Socializing and Zombies!

  1. leashieloo

    That sounds awesome! I’m trying to teach myself Korean and it’s damn near impossible. I’ve been looking for a group like this near me, but alas, it’s not a popular language!

  2. thoughtsappear

    I haven’t read it yet, but I want to. Educlaytion recommended it as well. My head is hung in shame as well.

    I’m still depressed over Borders closing, so I haven’t bought any new books. I’m reading my last one now though, so I guess I’ll have to suck it up and go to Barnes and Noble.

  3. Life Is Ducky

    You know, I’ve read World War Z and I wasn’t overly impressed … and I LOVE my zombies! Perhaps it was because it was in book format? They’re making it into a movie – perhaps that will be better? … though, staring Brad Pitt.

  4. Zhu

    On the language topic… I highly recommend a movie that plays right now in Gatineau. It’s called French Immersion and it’s a comedy about a few anglophones sent to the village of St-Isidore-du-Coeur-de-Jésus (!) to learn French.

    Like Bon Cop Bad Cop, the movie is in both languages and you have to understand English and French (or at least some of it) to get the jokes. But it’s really funny!

  5. Lynn

    I loved World War Z, and I’m not a zombie fan. It’s such a fun read and also so moving and terrifying. Highly recommended!

  6. Pauline Post author

    Hippie Cahier-Hmm, yeah probably! Maybe I could go a little bit sooner than anticipated!
    Leashieloo-I think there’s a Korean language group in my city, but I’m not sure. That’s too bad that you can’t find one near you. Maybe if you started one, people would come. 🙂

  7. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear-Well Christmas is coming up for both of us! Come end of December, we could be ashamed no longer! 😉 I’ve never been to Borders, but I do enjoy going to Book Market. Are there any of those in your area?
    Allison-Yay Youtube! Now I have Halloween plans!

  8. Pauline Post author

    Life is Ducky-Hmm, I guess it’s not for everyone. Seems kind of ridiculous to turn it into a movie, but maybe it will be good..
    Allison-Yipee! They’ve also started a show where you can call up Robert Kirkman (Creator and writer of the book and involved in the TV show) I’d like to start taping that as well!

  9. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-I’ve read some not so great reviews about that film, but might check it out. 🙂
    Lynn-Done! Maybe I can talk about it at the next BOLO! 😉
    Bevchen-Food is always good is my personal motto! 😉

Leave a Reply

