Haunted Agriculture!

Last night, Hubby and I went to Saunders Farm to sit on a “spooky” wagon ride and ran around a corn field full of teenagers in makeup. It was fun! I laughed so hard my gut started to ache. (Or it could have been from the hotdog, hot chocolate and caramel apple.)

This past Saturday, I was intending to go to the Ottawa Zombie Walk with Zhu but when the day came, I had to do some work around the house and Hubby took the car (The bus service sucks the big one after rush hour and on weekends in our area.), so I didn’t go. I regret not going though, because I would’ve liked to have seen her and it looked like the event was very successful.  So with this in mind, I was very determined to keep my Saunders date. After eating, we went on the wagon ride, which was decent. I tried to take photos, but taking pictures in the dark can be tough. Here’s the better ones:

After the wagon ride, we shot some corn out of a cannon:

I jokingly remarked to Hubby that it would be “scarier” for the wagon riders, if they passed through the firing range of the flying corn. (Scary or hilarious? Bit of column A, bit of column B. ;))

Next up, we went through Stalkers Field and it was great! Better than the wagon ride! I have to admit though, that I wasn’t very well “behaved”. I am such a shutterbug that, without thinking, thought I could take photos of the scary people in the field. Or at least that was the plan, but I ended up accidently blinding my companions with my camera flash instead. So they were blinded and then someone would jump out at them. I felt pretty embarrassed about it afterwards and apologized, but come caramel apple time, nobody seemed to mind too much.

As we were eating, an employee came by and asked us if we were going into the Haunted Barn. By this time, it was late and we had to get home, so I said that I was too “chicken”, which isn’t a total lie. I am easily spooked and that’s why I go to these things, because I enjoy being playfully scared. I kept eyeing the guy suspiciously, thinking he was going to try and scare me. But nope, his job appears to be to encourage people to get into the environment. However, there was another employee whose job it was to scare people wandering between attractions. He chased a few people around and would stare others down. The hyper teens really got a kick out of it!

Anyways, it was a good time and I recommend checking out Saunders!

7 thoughts on “Haunted Agriculture!

  1. Zhu

    This is not the first time I hear about Saunders Farm but for some reason I’ve never been there! I have to check it out.

    I’m the same with bus service on WE… unless I have the car or I get a ride, I don’t even bother going downtown. Service is pretty erratic and it’s a pain to get there… and back!

    I’m glad you had fun though 🙂

    And I’m sure there will be other events we can go to together! Or even just coffee/food 🙂

  2. Laura Best

    This sounds like a lot of fun. There’s a place a few hours from here where they have a haunted corn maze. My daughter went last year and thought it was pretty scary. Maybe some year I should go as well.

    Enjoyed the photos, too, Pauline. 🙂

  3. Laura

    I admire your bravery. We went during the day and the haunted wagon ride was a little scary…cannot imagine how different it would be in the dark forest. 🙂

  4. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear-Don’t you wish they had these types of things more than once a year?
    Zhu-Yes, go and see it! In terms of buses, they are usually a bit unpredictable but after rush hour, pftt! forget it! But yes, we should definitely get together again! 🙂

  5. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-Mine too! Part of the fun! 😉
    Laura Best-Thanks!
    Laura-The wagon ride at night isn’t too scary, the field was scarier I think!

Leave a Reply

