Halloween 2011

Halloween was pretty low-key, it’s getting more low-key with each passing year. Halloween is basically a day for two groups: Little kids and college or just post college-age kids: When you’re little, you delightfully marvel at your
treasure trove of treats and when you’re in your early twenties, you wear a slutty/pop culture related costume, get drunk, dance like an idiot and then eat leftover candy to take your mind off the wicked hangover the next day.

But when you near or reach the age of thirty, it’s all too much hassle, so you settle in for the night and smile at the kiddies who come to your door. Or maybe this is just me. But y’know what, I was glad to stay at home and take it easy and we did go to Saunders earlier, so it’s not like we didn’t do any Halloween activities. So perhaps, its not Halloween per se that’s for younger people, but just Trick or Treating and hard core partying.

On the Saturday before Halloween, we also went to the off-leash dog park for a doggie Halloween party, all the dogs were running around in their costumes. There were some very cute ones!

Tigger from Winnie the Pooh:

It’s a dog in a tie! This dog sat perfectly still for a long while and didn’t try to take it off, unlike Selena who rolled on the ground around in her Halloween shirt and rubbed against me:

Hubby hates it when I put clothes on Selena or other anthropormorphizing activities, like having her photos taken Santa, but in my defense, I only do this once in awhile. (If I start carrying her around in a stroller though, please shoot me! ;))

Halloween itself was on a Monday this year and I brought a pirate hat and hook to work, as well as brought a cd with music from Horror movies and shows, which my coworkers enjoyed. Not too many people wore costumes, which is weird
considering that it was only a few years ago that my work group (98% middle aged people) all dressed up and decorated the place. But some still were in the spirit, so that was good. Our small but lively group got our photo taken.

What did you guys do for Halloween? Did you dress up for work?

7 thoughts on “Halloween 2011

  1. leashieloo

    I was the Halloween Grinch this year. For whatever reason, I wasn’t into it at all. I didn’t dress up or attend any gatherings, but I am attending a theme party this weekend (it’s my belated attempt at Halloween festivities).

  2. Zhu

    Nobody did anything for Halloween at work. I’ve never worn any costum for Halloween actually, never had the chance to. All in all, I’d rather go to events like the Zombie Walk (next year I’ll go as a zombie!). Halloween night, especially when it’s during a weekday like this year, was pretty blah. We handed out candies and turned the lights off at 8:30 p.m. to have dinner.

  3. Pauline

    (Sorry for late response to comments)
    B-Aren’t they though?
    Leashieloo-I’ll have to visit your blog and see how that party went!
    Zhu-Zombie Walks are a million times more fun and open to everyone, zombie and not zombie!
    Avocadoexplosion-Heh he. Dogs look downright dashing in ties!

Leave a Reply

