Cookie Recipe and Shopping

Since a few people have asked, I thought I would post the recipe for Hungarian Cheese filled cookies. They are pretty awesome. And if you make them, don’t be like me and throw out surplus cheese filling because that stuff is pure gold and bakes down anyways!

2 cups butter                        3/4 cup ricotta cheese

1/2 cup white sugar             1 package (3 oz) softened cream cheese

2 tbsp milk                           1 egg yolk

1 1/2 tsp lemon extract        1/2 cup icing sugar

2 tbsp poppy seeds

4 cups flour

Heat oven to 325F. Beat butter, milk and lemon extract with mixer until creamy. Add poppy seeds. Gradually add flour, mix until smooth dough forms. Now for the filing,  in a separate bowl, beat ricotta, cream cheese, egg yolk and remaining 1/2 tsp lemon extract until smooth.

Shape dough into 1 inch balls and put on a ungreased cookie sheet. Press thumb into center of each cookie to make indentations, spoon some filing into each cookie.

Bake 18-20 minutes until cookies look dry and set (they will not brown). Cool and sprinkle with icing sugar. Yum!

In terms of more holiday cooking, my mom and I have divided up our traditional list of baking treats and I picked Peanut Butter Marshmallow Squares for Christmas and maybe Raspberry Snowbars. So I should have a good supply of treats around the house..

Anyways, in other festive news, I’m pretty much done my shopping. This year I went pretty nuts with it. Probably too nuts. After seeing my latest bills, I’m definitely going to have to reign it in. It’s tough though because I love buying presents and if I could I would buy my loved ones the world. What also doesn’t help is the high price of shipping-Cheese and rice, why does it cost so freakin’ much to ship things, especially relatively small items??? It’s a scam, for sure!

Anyways, there are plenty of other ways to show you care about someone than buying them stuff. I’ll probably get back into making some cards soon too.

What about you? How has your shopping been going?

8 thoughts on “Cookie Recipe and Shopping

  1. Laura Best

    Things are slowly getting done. I think I’ll go out tonight and try to finish things up. If not there’s always next week. Right? I’m looking forward to doing some baking for the kids.

  2. Pearl

    those look good.

    probably should do shopping soon. started it. and cards. mostly done. might get a tree. probably just skip it. baking? that seems unlikely this year as well. but 2013 will be done in style. maybe 2012 we’ll just skip the cold and go to aruba or something.

  3. Pauline Post author

    Pearl-“maybe 2012 we’ll just skip the cold and go to aruba or something.” I like the way you think! If I had the money, I would skip the holidays and go to Aruba or somewhere hot and nice in a second!

Leave a Reply

