Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everyone! It is now 2012! Today is the last day of my Christmas break holidays and I am planning on making the most of it-starting with a brand new blog post for the year.

Selena got a Santa suit!

Christmas was good, spent it with my immediate family as planned and as a new twist this year, I also spent Christmas eve not at my grandmother’s like we usually do, but at my aunt’s place. My aunt breeds King Charles Cavalier spaniels and had nine of them over the holidays, and with our dog Selena, it came to 10 dogs! It felt like Dogapalooza and it was awesome!

Well, right up until the point where my allergies started protesting, then we had to leave. My aunt did offer two different kinds of allergy meds though which was appreciated. We also had to go because Hubby had been sick all week and he needed to lie down somewhere quiet without the hair of a million dogs wafting through the air.

On Christmas Day-after getting little sleep due to our noisy, whiny dog-we opened presents and ate breakfast. There were two present themes for me this year-Zombies and scented candles, and I got both aplenty, my brother even bought me a Walking Dead action figure with chomping action:

My photo of it didn’t turn out, so I got this one from Rue Morgue, with link to toys at the bottom of the page.

I also received all the books for A Song of Ice and Fire (aka Game of Thrones), which I’m assuming are good, since my brother and Hubby began reading them and were hard pressed to put them down. After little sleep again, we went over to Hubby’s parents for Boxing Day. The day began with me experiencing a bout of acid reflux, which then morphed into a cold like Hubby’s, uh oh. But the food was good and I got some photos of the wild turkeys roaming in their yard:

Unfortunately my throat was so sore, I spent the rest of the day nodding and pointing, blowing my nose and hacking up phlegm, something that continued for the rest of the week.  I was still sick for my birthday-December 30- and tried to supress it with amaretto and ginger on New Years eve. Blech!

During my holidays, I had hoped to be more productive and get some more artwork done, which I did, but it was difficult since I just wanted to crash on the couch all day. But despite the crappy timing,  it was still a great holiday and I hope yours was too! 🙂

Picture: http://rue-morgue.com/blog/archives/2011/11/29/cryptic-collectibles-new-walking-dead-tv-series-action-figures/

12 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Finola

    My allergies were acting up just looking at all those dogs – but cute!

    Happy New Year, and hope you had a happy birthday too!

  2. Pauline Post author

    Lone Grey Squirrel-Thanks! I can’t believe I’m 31!
    Thoughtsappear-I believe she was trying to back out of it! LOL. And yes, that zombie toy is pretty cool!
    B-Thank you! Responses, thanks and forwards on here will be posted soon!

  3. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-Yeah most animals don’t like wearing human type clothes, strange! 😉 They can look mighty cute in them though!
    Finola-They do produce a huge amount of hair and dander! Happy New Year!
    Bevchen-Me too! They are awesome dogs! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

