More Random Stuff!

I’m still here! Here are some more random things that happened (Since I’m too lazy to write out a big, concise paragraph, so here are a bunch of fun little unrelated ones):

-Last week was Chinese New Year and we had the annual potluck at my work. While at the latest Asian superstore, I picked up some snacks for the event along with New Year decorations and hung them in my office. Anyways, a Chinese guy came by one day and after I pointed them out, he asked: “But why is this one upside down?” The thing had been hanging upside down on my door all week and no one told me! *palm face*

-After hearing some glowing reviews, I ordered the book “The Cube People” by Christian McPherson and cannot put it down! It’s refreshingly honest and hilarious and written by a fellow Ottawan about living and working in our fair city. One day, I took it out on a bus and this guy tappped me on the shoulder. “Isn’t that book great?” He smiled. “Oh yeah!” I replied. “My wife and I couldn’t stop laughing while reading it!” he said. There you go, random bus stranger approved! Buy it!

-Feeling inspired by the above mentioned book, along with Finola who sent me a short story she submitted for Canada Writes, I’ve begun writing my first short horror story.(Which will not be going to Canada Writes!) It’s the first time in a while where I have gotten an idea and just sat down and typed away as opposed to starting, stopping, overthinking, trying to start again and then giving up. Wish me luck in finishing it and it disturbing and grossing out at least a few people!

-Remember that guy, aka the Thermometer Nazi, who I mentioned earlier? Well a couple weeks ago, he barged into my office and practically yelled at me while I was on the phone. “Do you want us all to freeze?!” he demanded. Apprently someone had ‘dared’ turn down the thermostat in the lunch room, but it wasn’t me and I let him know in a pretty miffed tone. But he thinks we should all just deal with having +30 temps and full sun and lights so he can run around practically naked in the winter months! Urg! Most of my coworkers are o.k, but some of them are really starting to grate on my nerves and/or make me scratch my head and wonder what the hell is wrong with them. Every job can have its bad moments and people, and I’ve been trying to focus on all the positive aspects of mine and the less crazy/annoying coworkers, but it’s been tough since my departure feels overdue. (But alas, I need to save up some money first!)

-Dexter is done for this season, along with Boardwalk Empire, and Game of Thrones won’t start up again until April! But never fear, the new season of Spartacus is back on! All the sex, violence, plot twists and British/New Zealand actors continuously yelling the word “cock!!” you could ever want! I’m more than a little excited!*

-On Friday night, I went over to a nice dinner party with some friends who I see rarely (*waves*) Dinner was great, as was the wine and dessert. Our hostess then gave us a tour of her new-ish house and we went into the basement to play the Wii where I played the Micheal Jackson Experience for the first time and half assed it by sitting down and waving my arms around the whole time. I hit the person accidently next to me, but it was only in the arm, so yay! No major injuries! (Hey for a klutz like me, that’s progress!)

So that’s it, I hope you enjoyed more randomness!

*The show will probably not be the same without Andy Whitfield though. RIP*

12 thoughts on “More Random Stuff!

  1. Lynn

    Good for you for writing your story! I’m so proud and I hope it’s step one on a long journey of storytelling. It’s so hard to talk yourself out of writing – I’m so inspired to hear that you’re getting it done!

  2. Pauline Post author

    Hippie Cahier-LOL, that is true! I’m actually going back to school, so hopefully only have to put up with the annoying ones until August.:)

  3. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-One or two or three..depending on who you are and where you work, but yes, in general if you’re lucky, the sane/decent ones outweigh the crazy/ignorant/annoying ones.

  4. Pauline Post author

    B-I hear that! I really want to work from home at some point. Of course, I’ll still have to be able to work with people and try to practice good social skills, but I won’t be around others all the time and I’ll be able to work from the comfort of my own home.

  5. Finola

    I am so happy to hear you are writing! And thank you for the shout-out too 🙂
    I would love to read your work sometime…though I know how scary it is to share it.

  6. Pauline Post author

    Laura Best-Sorry for the late reply! Yes, that’s a huge part of what inspired me, seeing other people just go for it! It’s very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

