Money, money, money

Things have been quiet at home and work. There have been continous “technical” issues at work, preventing me from doing one of my duties, so I’ve been kind of bored. There is a project due at the end of the month, but instead of being able to work on it, I sit twiddling my thumbs.

I’m trying to enjoy this free time as much as possible, because when school starts, things will be crazy busy, but it makes me think of all the more constructive things I could be doing at home. But at least it lets me keep up with my reading and gives me time to clean out some of the ancient papers that have been sitting in my office forever.

Anyways, earlier this week I discovered the physical Letter of Offer letter in our mailbox and it listed the following steps:

-Confirm with Ontario Colleges-Check!

-Pay tuition for fall term by July 15.

July 15! That’s soon! I know the date shouldn’t surprise me, but it’s been awhile since I’ve been in school. The approximate first year cost is $7,911 plus the cost of a fancy laptop.  The remaining two years combined together cost roughly $12,096. (This is based on 2011 costs, they haven’t released 2012-13 yet)

So we’ll probably have to start budgeting and spending more wisely, but there is a world of temptation out there! I mean all the trips to the grocery/pet supply stores alone really add up! Our monthly rent is also going to go up when we move, anywhere between $300-600.

But despite the additional costs, I’d really like to go somewhere this summer. Obviously it won’t be anywhere foreign, but it would be nice to go somewhere we’ve never been, we’ll see how it goes.

And to make things even more interesting-There will be TWO Sci-fi/fantasy/horror events coming to town! CAN-CON in September and The Ottawa Comic Con is coming up in May with Neal Adams and Patrick Stewart ! Yay! Two geekfests that don’t require traveling all the way to Toronto!

6 thoughts on “Money, money, money

  1. Get Off My Lawn

    I can’t say enough about the “staycation”. Find something really touristy to do. Something people travel from other countries to do and that locals take for granted. Comic Cons are a great start. If you are thinking about heading west, I hear Haida Gwaii has lovely things to do and you know someone who would let you sleep on the air matress in the living room.

  2. Juliette Giannesini (@Xiaozhuli)

    Wow, that’s quite expensive for two years of school! I guess I’m still European when it comes to education, I’m used to paying zero or little tuition. But eh, you have a goal and it’s two years. And $12,000 is painful but still affordable, especially compared to some crazy tuition cost in the US.

  3. Pauline Post author

    Get off my Lawn-Canada certainly has a lot of beautiful things to do and see and I would love to go to Haida Gwaii, but it’s a bit too far for us at the moment. But hopefully we’ll make it out to BC again someday soon and thank you for offering your air mattress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

