Dicks Restaurant!

Hubby and I decided to check out some of the local restaurants in our new area. We already visited the Firkin Knight months ago after looking at potential places, along with Montana’s, which is a chain and hence the same no matter what part of the city you live in. I don’t mind chains sometimes, but my absolute favorite places are independently owned and free to do whatever they want with the dΓ©cor and food. Dicks is such a place and has a 60s soda shop kinda vibe:

The seats were cushy and comfortable, the lighting not too bright and the music, of course, was top 50s-60s, which is great. Β I already ate dinner, so I ordered the sundae while hubby had the veggie burger. The ice cream was wonderful and I’m pretty sure, homemade. After eating in dozens of restaurants over the years and being limited to the veggie pizza and/or burger, Hubby is pretty much an expert on what makes a good one and Dicks version was really tasty. (Or at least that’s what he told me, I’ll have to go back to verify for myself)

Service was a bit slow at times, but pleasant. They had some more “adventurous” items on the menu like kangaroo burgers, which made me wonder how fresh they could possibly be coming all the way from Australia, (Unless there’s some kangaroo farm around town that I don’t know about) but tasting the quality of the food, I’m sure they are still delicious.

So if you’re in our area and looking for a place to eat, skip McD’s and Dairy Queen, and go to Dicks instead. You won’t regret it!

17 thoughts on “Dicks Restaurant!

  1. writerdood

    If you’re talking about these guys: http://www.ddir.com/ then I’m with you. Although this looks like a different place. The Dicks I know probably only exists in the Seattle area, and it’s a fantastic place to get a good cheap burger fast. Their fries rock too.

  2. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear-Indeed! πŸ˜‰

    Writerdood-My Dicks is a different place than your Dicks (LOL! I know that sounded weird! But gotta love the name right?) The one we went to is in our hometown-Ottawa, Canada-while yours looks like yes, its only located in Seattle. But they both have the same idea and are probably equally fantastic!

  3. Zhu

    Ah, here is the review! I like this place too, this is where I go when I feel like having a good burger. So much better (and cheaper!) and The Works, not to mention any of the fast food chains. Don’t forget to check out the website for coupons πŸ˜‰

  4. Tania

    Oh, I love Dick’s! I used to go there after everytime I donated blood for a big fat burger. I remember their poutine and lime soda floats as being really good. Aw, homesick!

  5. neeroc

    I love Dick’s, haven’t been there for ages though, thanks for reminding me. (added bonus is the Dairy Queen just around the corner *g*)

  6. Pauline Post author

    Tania-So burgers were your reward to yourself or did they have some kind of blood drive going on? Because I would donate blood for free food! πŸ˜‰

  7. Pauline Post author

    Neeroc-No problem. I like DQ o.k, but prefer the ice cream at Dicks, since as mentioned it tastes more ‘real’
    .

  8. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-I love retro places like this too! One day they’re going to have 80s-90s places and call them “retro”. How weird will that be?

  9. leashieloo

    I already experienced this, kind of! Last week I went to this music festival that showcased bands of the 90s (Sugar Ray, Gin Blossoms, Everclear, etc.) and they were doing 90s trivia at the bar to kill time. I was like, WHAT! Then this weekend was a 90s dance party at one of the local venues. People dressed up in flannel and my mind was slightly blown. What do you mean my generation is considered retro!!!

Leave a Reply

