First classes

After a lazy Labour Day weekend, today was my first day of classes. I had a heck of a time getting to sleep last night and was pretty much in full panic mode staring at the ceiling, same tired worries and regrets circling through my head. It wasn’t until after a sleeping pill and some nose blowing (my allergies are crazy right now!) that I finally got a bit of sleep.

All my morning classes for the week begin at 8am sharp, so after persuading Hubby to drive me in the morning, he and I both woke up at 6:30am and got ready. My Tuesday morning class is Photography and there is about twenty students registered.  The instructor is a trim, 35-year-old guy with blondish, slightly spiky hair who, in addition to taking pictures, has a passion for rugby and told us about his experiences playing the sport. Then it was the students turn to state their name and talk briefly about themselves. One girl at the back mentioned that she was a psychology student, but left because it “sucked”, which made me wince since I have a degree in that program. But weirdly enough, there were a few other kids who also said that they tried psych as well and left due to lack of interest.

Anywho, when it came around to my turn, I mentioned my degree and said that I liked the program but didn’t pursue graduate studies, and gave a tiny version of my life story up to now.  Somebody had to stick up for psych and while this isn’t the first time I’ve heard it being criticized and yes, I sometimes regret my degree, I still think it’s an interesting subject. Taken as just a bachelors, it doesn’t help you solve your own and/or others craziness, but at least it gives you a bit of insight, which can be oddly comforting. 😉 Plus, as you all know, you pretty much need a BA or diploma to do anything nowadays!

After introductions, we were given our first assignment: We were given a number of steps from the classroom entrance to a spot where we would take ten photos. I was given the number 50, so I walked down the hallway, counting the number of steps while also dodging crowds of students and when I got to 50, I stopped and found myself in a starwell. Then I photographed random stuff: The floor, the sky, the flourescent light fixtures on the ceiling, some people coming up and down the stairs and worried if my pictures were good, I was putting some thought into them, but it’s tough to do anything too magnificent from a bright college starwell.  It was fun regardless though!

Then after a looong and hot walk to the bus stop, I went home and called up the Registrars Office and listened to Kenny G muzak for about twenty minutes until confirming with someone there that yes, I am enrolled in Communications online. Ironically enough, no one communicated with me that I was registered online, so I had to make sure, because I really didn’t want to go to an early morning class, come home and then hours later, have to go back to school again. But it is online and you’ll never guess what we’ll be doing-Blogging! Slightly different then this of course, but the gist is the same. Isn’t that funny?

So that’s that for today-Tomorrow-Wednesdays- will be the busiest day of the week for me, I have classes from 8am-5pm, with a lunch break at 2pm. Thursdays are my days off and then I have one morning class on Fridays. In college you spend more time doing assignments, then listening to lectures, which suits me fine! As mentioned, I love dear old Psychology and university in general, but I’m looking forward to more practical schooling!

9 thoughts on “First classes

  1. Zhu

    I guess no matter how old or how experienced you are, “back to school” day is stressful!

    I think a lot of people go into psych because of stereotypes, i.e. all you have to do is listen to people talk about their issue. Where in fact, psych literature is tough!

  2. writerdood

    I took quite a few psychology courses, at first assuming they’d be easy electives, but then simply because they were fun. (I spent six years getting a four year degree, mainly because I didn’t care how long it would take, and I enjoyed college). The thing I remember most about psych was the vocabulary. So many common terms completely overridden and redefined! At first, I simply assumed I’d be able to cruise through it, I mean, these terms seemed like common sense. After not studying for the first test and blowing it, I realized I’d better have a closer look at the book, and holy crap, none of these things meant what I thought they’d mean! I kept the book, knowing I’d never use this stuff, but I was wrong. It comes in handy when writing fiction. Personally, I think psych majors probably have a great opportunity in literature. They’ve got a secondary vocabulary, and a deeper understanding of characterization.

  3. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-No, I don’t think so (I’ve kept a very thin veil of anonyminity on here and despite it being thin, I’d like to keep it that way:))

  4. Pauline Post author

    Writerdood-I agree and think psych not only benefits writers, but people in general as well. It can also promote tolerance towards those who are mentally ill or impaired and gives you a better appreciation for your brain and inspires one to take better care of it.

  5. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-It wasn’t too bad, but I know it will get more stressful as the days go on. Psych literature is not always intuitive and does take some effort to understand, but if you do, it’s very rewarding!

Leave a Reply

